Help develop an organic garden in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 116 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    7 hectar land with 3 small houses. 1 house is rented to an argentinian family with 2 kids (3 and 7 years). I live with my girlfriend in the other house, the small appartment is used by guests.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers could practise the English and German language, also see how to live in a organic farm in the country side with Solar Energy PV, Solar Thermal Energy and water irrigation system from our own dam for gardening and daylife use. The next portuguese village is ca. 2 km away. You can meet also a lot of surfers in several beaches, like Zavial, Amado or Casteleijo (all ca. 6 -10 km away from us), also Lagos and Sagres are closed by (ca. 20 minutes driving), a big Yoga and music scene is close by too.

  • Help

    Help

    I would love to develop my organic garden. Also I will need help to maintain my houses with painting and wood work.
    We planted last year 50 almond trees and planning to plant more 100 this winter ! Also the next project will be to build some stairs to the dam, also to build a Fotovolaik System with PV roof tiles, a shadow place for the cheep.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english, portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are living close to Barao Sao Miguel and Budens. You will sleep in a Caravan with kitchen and electricity with double bed and gas stove, We will not eat always in our house together, but food and drinks are always available. In bad weather seasons you can use the appartment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I run a small solar company since 18 years in the South of Portugal. We are taking care for 7 hectar land with a dam of 3 Mio Liters of water. My goal is to develop the land and especially the organic garden and planting trees.
    I am always happy to receive some know how regarding gardening, I am still a newcomer. There are also many other things to do, like painting, building, repairing, and not to forget a good live in the nature ....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

my girlfriend Clara and me on the westcoast beach Casteleijo
in winter time this sleeping room is sometimes available for travelers
my children Sophie and Frederik, only in Portugal in holidays
our bread and pizza stove
our dam, which provides water for the land and houses
our wood house
a nice double bed with an fantastic view !



Host ref number: 499558723944