Renovate an 18th Century Farm, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 147 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2021

 
  • Description

    Description

    The house itself is set in two and a half hectares of land, part of which is an olive grove of 100 plus trees, as well as being a local nature hotspot. Over the years the land has become overgrown and needs some care and attention to bring it back to it's former glory.

    The longer term project is to use the property as somewhat of a Hostel where skilled or unskilled travelers can stay and work if they choose - with the opportunity of maybe even hosting nature and Italian language courses in the off-season.

    A real highlight of this project is that we are embarking on a very community-focused endeavor and envisage having plenty of young people working and living together. I am keen to welcome people into the home to see it thrive on that energy, and it would also be a fantastic opportunity for my twelve-year-old to interact with a diverse culture of people.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    There is plenty of work to be done on the land, including clearing terraces, the Olive grow, setting up organic growing and building/roofing to be done on the barn.

    Inside the house there is general maintenance and building work to be done, including some plumbing and electrical work, painting and decorating.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is an Eighteenth Century Farm House that was renovated ten years ago but has been empty during the winter for the last two years.

    There are five bedrooms and it is heated with three wood burning stoves - although in the summer you'll be grateful for it's cool air.

    It is only 15 minutes from Lucca in a car and there are also buses 10 minutes away that run to the local towns. Alternatively I can offer the use of a bike and help with shopping if necessary.

    I can offer workers a lunchtime meal, and depending on the time of year (or how many workers we have) you may be staying in the family home so would be welcome to join us for evening meals as well. We can clarify these details via email before your arrival.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two


Host ref number: 4992959974c8