Help take care of our Animals on our 110 year old farm with our own beach and forest in Tasmania, Australia



Favourited 334 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    It is myself and my husband that live on the farm.
    Our property is right on the beach, so we have our own private beach to go sit on and enjoy the gorgeous views as well as having a 7 acre forest of our own to go and explore. We do have quite a bit of wild life living on and around our property including a family of healthy Tasmanian Devils which is really special

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A Beautiful natural part of Australia that we would like to share with people that havent been fortunate enough to experience what we have every day of our lives. My husband and I are both Wildlife rescuers and carers and are passionate about all animals. We are happy to share our knowledge and our furry friends with you.

  • Help


    We have a 110 year old farm which is on 15 acres. We have all types of animals including 1 very spoilt dog who sleeps inside and need extra attention ,we have
    2 Alpacas which take care of themselves, 6 chickens that need feeding and watering twice a day, 2 lambs that think they are dogs :) and 9 horses. 3 large thoroughbreds and 6 miniature horses. The 6 minis are shedded at night so duties would include feeding the big horses breakfast and putting them into a paddock for grazing for the day, letting the minis out of their stables in seperate paddocks,giving all the horses hay for the day as well as feeding the chickens, then mucking out the sheds and refilling their water. At night they would need to be put back in their stables with dinner and replacing their hay.
    We are also a refuge for injured wild animals and have 2 wallabies and 2 possums and 1 one legged duck and 5 wild ducks. Feeding them twice a day and cleaning out their areas.
    You would also be in charge of filling up the feed bins and let us know when you are running low . It is an absolute MUST that you have had experience with farm animals especially horses as well as being around most of the time for our dog.
    There would be a few hours each day to go touring , shopping etc. We are quite rural and not many buses come through, we are about 40km out of Hobart, but if we are going into town you are more than welcome to join us alternatively we could drop you at a bus stop to catch buses where you would like to go. If you have an international licence and are over 25 yrs old, we have a vehicle for you to use.
    Some of the help is quite physical, so you should be quite fit and dont mind getting a bit smelly. 7 acres of the property are only used as the rest is a forest.
    Duties/chores start at approx 8.30am and finish up at around 12.00 then they get put away and all the animals get dinner around 2 - 3pm in winter and between 4.30pm -6pm in summer depending on the weather.
    Please note you cannot ride our horses. They are here to enjoy their freedom in the paddocks during the day.
    Other chores include farm maintenance including weeding etc. Help within the house will also be required eg: helping with preparation of meals, cleaning up etc. We will require you to show some initiative and not for us to keep on asking for you to help.
    The rest of the time you are free to do whatever you please. Sit on our own private beach, walk through our private forest, absorb the gorgeous view, watch a movie or 2. Mingle or read a book. Its totally up to you
    Hoping to hear from you
    NO children and no vegans please. Vegetarians are ok.
    It might sound silly but we do get people who come and dont really like animals but still come and treat our animals badly.
    Please do NOT apply if you cannot give our animals 100%

    Continuous help needed as my husband and I have major back problems and its difficult to see to the animals on our own


  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Studio just beside the house with a queen bed and fridge , microwave and tv, shared bathroom and kitchen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    occasional buses but a beautiful part of the world to explore. More for the nature and animal than the party animal.
    2 Bicycles available to use if needed.
    A vehicle to use for licenced drivers over 25 years old.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 498883947246

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more