Help with small animals at a small farmstead in enchanted forests in Strömstad, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Small farmstead in the forest with dogs and other small animals. Work with animals, garden, house and enjoy complete tranquility in the fairytale woodlands surrounding you in Swedish/Norwegian viking country.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great place for nature lovers enjoying the idea of living close to nature. The property is surrounded by untouched woodland which is great fun to explore, there is no traffic noise, just tranquility.

    If you are looking for a long term workaway and you have a love and interest for agriculture or permaculture, perhaps we will change the vegetable garden and do it your way.

    We are also close to several viking sites. Koster marine national park is close by and we are a short trip from a number of historic towns. For those interested in the Norwegian or Swedish language, I would be happy to help you learn. I am also fluent in English.

    I would certainly love to exchange cultural experiences, such as food and language, and do things together.

  • Help

    Help

    My husband and I bought this little farmstead in the middle of the forest so that we could live undisturbed with our animals. It has been our little heaven on earth. Sadly, he recently passed away from cancer and since he was the one staying at home being the handyman and looking after the animals, I now find that I could use some help as I return to my full time job.

    My name is Linda, I am 39, and I work as a veterinary assistant. My hobby is dog breeding, I have 6 adult collies (Lassie dogs) and occasionally puppies. I need help with caring for and exercising them. I also have chickens, rabbits and cats, a garden and vegetable garden that require some looking after - if you are into permaculture of growing vegetables, I am open to letting you experiment or do it your way. Some housework should be expected, such as cleaning and simple cooking. I am also in the process of building and renovating kennels, so if you are handy, it would come in... handy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be sharing my house with me, a smallish farmhouse which dates back to the previous turn of the century. We share kitchen, bathroom and lounge. You will have your own bedroom - I recommend it for one person, but if you are a couple, it is possible to fit two. Internet is available, fast enough for streaming video.

    Your well behaved dog is welcome!

    The future holds plans for a private annex. If you are a builder and want to stay for a while, you are welcome to help me build one and stay in it after.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am an easy going and fair person who appeciates the quiet life and nature. I will be looking for non-smoking and non-party person. This house likes kindness and laughter under its roof. I eat meat and may even occasionally slaughter my own chickens or rabbits for food - you need to be OK with that. The charming seaside village Strömstad is 20 minutes away by car and it offers all types of shops and services. I might be able to lend you a car if you have a drivers license, otherwise you can come with me when I go. There is no public transportation in walking distance, but from Strömstad, there are plenty of buses, trains and ferries. Big cities Oslo (Norway) and Gothenburg are both a couple hours away - these cities both have international airports.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 498697297235