Small family homesteading in a remote area in Atikokan, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small outdoorsy family of three, living off the grid on our large property we purchased nearly three years ago. We are homesteading in a remote area with limited soil resources - it was a large gravel pit belonging to CN Railway in the WWII era. We are working with poultry, a few hogs, a Jersey cow and a beautiful horse to work the land back into greenery. Much of it is planted with beautiful red pines and we border several small ponds and one picturesque lake. Our homestead is a work in progress and there is always so much to do, but the results are seen quickly and it makes us so happy to see life returning to our land!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a really unique and beautiful area, land of the blue lakes and rocky shores. We have both travelled in the past and love to hear new adventure stories or share knowledge about permaculture and livestock. We also love our meal times! We love trying new foods and learning new recipes/traditions, so if you're up for sharing some of your talents please do!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for light duty help, things like spreading hay for a mulch on planted gravel, gathering leaves for the compost pile, feeding the livestock, help when moving the electric fencing, help with our numerous house-finishing projects (like organizing crawlspace, re insulating, installing heaters etc.). On down days help in the house, cooking and cleaning.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodations are a small cabin/bunkie with a nearby new outhouse. It has a queen bed, a tiny woodstove, a small dresser and desk.
    There is a large porch attached.
    You can take a shower in the house. We are happy to host but do need our private time during evening hours after suppertime and throughout the day when our son is napping.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are fairly remote here, no public transport so you would need a vehicle to get here, alternatively there is a bus that travels to the dearest town where we can pick up/drop off. There is a lot of good fishing and hiking here, many trails to explore. We have a bounty of wildlife to see but it is not guaranteed to see them! There are several abandoned mine sites that are interesting to visit, and quetico park is a short drive away. Our nearby community is the canoeing capital of Canada, and as so there are many lakes and rivers to enjoy! We ourselves tend to be homebodies that dont go out much, we have so much entertainment here with our small group of mixed animals! I enjoy horseback riding, walks through the forest, sewing, baking and much more. We are both outdoors people and even our little one likes to be out in the fresh air! You would be welcome to join us on our outings to town to buy supplies, check the mail etc. We usually enjoy a large sunday lunch with my family and you would be more than welcome to come along!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We located a few km off the paved road but the gravel roads are maintained and a camper or trailer would make it here with no issues. We have lots of space but limited power as we are off grid.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 497747767525