Help with milking cows, feeding sheep and horses on a farm near Selfoss, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 582 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    446

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Elísabet and Axel have three kids, 9 years, 7 years and a newborn. We are farmers and need some help on ower farm. Elísabet is half Norwegian and speaks Norwegian.
    We need help in the cow house, milking and cleaning. We have ca 32 diary cow's and ca 50 kalfs and young cow's.
    One the farm we also have 130 sheep's and in May it is lambing season, lot of work but FUN!
    We have many horses, ca 70, young horses and older trained horses. In summer it is possible to go riding.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested learning Icelandic then that is possible near by. Beautiful nature around this area. Elísabet is an horse trainer so she could advise you and she is also knitting from Icelandic wool so she could teach you. Learn to see how the Icelandic agriculture takes place.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We have three kids, girl (10 years), a boy (7 years) and a boy 6 months old. We live on a farm with cows, sheep and horses, possible to go riding.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in our house and have your own room with shared toilet facilities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 40 hours a week




Host ref number: 497743285824