Looking for a couple or 1 volunteer in Oria, Puglia, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 145 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Place open now until 22nd September, possibly longer into the olive harvest by mutual agreement.


    I need some help with cutting grass, painting a room and putting up a door frame. Cleaning and damp proofing 2 tents. Moving furniture into storage. Cleaning, general repairs and maintenance inside and out. Cutting bamboo to use as a wind break. Moving heavy brick to make a small wall. Trim offshoots from the olive trees and potentially help with the harvest later on. I can offer a lovely work environment and good food.

    I am a 55 year old British woman who has lived in Italy for 3 years. I am doing some house renovating and lots of gardening and could really do with some help.

    I have travelled extensively in my life. First working my way around the world with a rucksack on my back and then visiting most of the world on many long holidays. I did grape picking, worked on different Kibbutzim in Israel, olive harvesting in Greece. I have never lost the travel bug which is why I have ended up living my dream in Italy.

    I have hosted now for 2 years and have throughly enjoyed the experience. I am looking forward to meeting you too. I am still friends with many of My previous Workawayers which is wonderful. One guy even gave a new UK home to one of my rescue dogs.

    I have 3 kids who are in their 20’s and are now settled and working in the UK but they are regular visitors here.

    I have a pool and relaxing peaceful environment. I have 3 beautiful and very happy rescue dogs and 2 rescue cats who walk with us and think they are dogs.

    I live off the land as much as possible. I enjoy a decent glass of wine with a nice meal and good conversation and company. I am a reasonable cook and I love entertaining but I am a pescatarian. I cook meat for the animals so I’m not funny about having meat in the house.

    The area I live in is beautiful. Within cycling distance or a 40 minute walk to Oria a beautiful old fortified town. I have 2 bikes for your use.

    The house is almost on top of the Appia Way which is now a cycling and jogging route.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have a good social life here and have many Italian friends but friends from different countries too. You would be welcome to join me in socialising. I am learning Italian so we could practice together if you want to learn the language. Maybe you are fluent and can help me.

    Italy has so much to offer. We have endless celebrations here, the food is amazing and so fresh.

    We tend to live off the land as much as we can and it is organic farming. I have many different fruit trees and exchange produce with my friends and neighbours. Apricots, loquats, cherries, mulberries, pomegranates, grapes, oranges, lemons, tangerines, limes, pomelos and figs .

    The local towns are full of history and culture. Most events are free and fun.

    The beaches are a 30 minute drive away each side, the Ionian on one side and Adriatic on the other. I usually enjoy the beaches up until the beginning of December and then again from March/April time.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for volunteers to help me. There are many chores that I need help with as it is too much for me alone. There is general labouring work, cutting grass, 7 acres, clearing stones from the garden, cutting back bamboo and attaching to a fence, some carpentry help and advice would be great. I need someone who is quite strong, work motivated and is prepared to give me 5 hours work a day, 5 days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Italian, some German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation will be in one of the two glamping tents in the gardens which are fitted with double beds, furniture and a portaloo.

    I also need help finishing off my little flat in Oria. Just a back to be put on the kitchen units and some back splash tiling? It is in the historic centre and close to bars and restaurants. You could stay here too if you want, or just a day during your time off.

    The tents are amazing to sleep in at night as it is cooler in the heat of the summer and snug with big quilts in the cooler weather. The bathroom is new and has outside access, there is an outside shower too.

    It can get quite hot here but the tents are nestled under the olive trees. Swimming, snoozing and chilling in the afternoons after lunch is a must.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest airport is Brindisi. There is a train station in Oria with direct lines from Brindisi and Taranto. Buses go to the beach at San Pietro in Bevagna, half an hour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 497542241474