Come and help me out in my veggie garden and olive grove in Kimberley, Tasmania, Australia



Favourited 20 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I have retired to a peaceful 5 acres of gentle slopes beside the Mersey River. I have approximately 450 olive trees, sheep and goats. A warm spring feeds a creek which contains platypus, I grow many of my own vegetables and have many fruit trees and vines. My property is organic,
    Tasks for autumn include pruning fruit trees, picking tomatoes and making passata, clearing creek of rushes, planting winter vegetables, prune olive trees and burn branches if weather permits.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are many native animals in this area, and you will hear kookaburras, see platypus and trout and maybe an echidna. I have spent several years living overseas myself and look forward to meeting people from other countries. Depending on the season, much of the fruit and vegetables will be from my garden. I have some canoes which can be used on the lily pond. There are trout in the river, but you need the appropriate licence from the Tasmanian government in order to fish. Kimberley is a very small community,with no shops, so any medical or dietary requirements you have will need to be brought with you. Being a small community, there is almost no light pollution, so at night the stars are amazing. You may even be lucky enough to view an aurora australis.

  • Help


    I look forward to sharing my beautiful property with visitors. I require help in the vegetable garden and the olive grove. I am also hoping to rehabilitate the riverbank after a flood three years ago. This will include clearing away debris and planting trees.
    There are currently two miniature goats and six sheep, plus a cat which share my farm.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    One king size bed in a bedroom in my house. There is also a double bed in a lined and tiled brick shed which was previously the olive processing shed. I anticipate that we can cook meals together and eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport in this area. If you do not have a vehicle, I can take you to local points of interest. Cradle Mountain is only 82 kms away. No smokers please. Bring sunhats and sunscreen, and boots if you have them, but if not I can lend you some.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 497249166452