Learn about permaculture at our property in Tauranga, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/04/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Available from 2 April 2020 for one person.

    My productive section in Greerton, Tauranga is a permaculture property, waiting to meet you! The vegetable garden is large and there are fruit trees, berries, passionfruit and grape vines, two beehives, worm farms, bokashi system of composting and water storage tanks. I also have lots of edible weeds as I run workshops on how to identify them and use them.
    The tasks I have going at the moment , clearing wild sections of the garden, a carpentary job in the kitchen to put up some shelves, organising garden shed and hanging tools, painting spoons for use as labels for edible weeds, cleaning windows, assisting with creating an online video course which I've never done before - its self taught so it would be great to brainstorm, then filming and finally edit. I need someone who can drive a car.

    My property is a private, quiet, back section, which is completely concealed from neighbours, a secret garden full of diversity and life, birds and insects. It is a haven yet very close to the local shops. Greerton is the Opportunity shop (second hand clothes and other goods) capital of Tauranga with at least 6 or 7 and the small supermarket is 5 minutes walk away.

    I'd love you to meet you and share my paradise while getting some projects completed. I also run Air B&B from my home so the dates available are limited (see above).

    I am a relaxed, friendly, open person who loves to meet new people, learn new things and travel. I am a photographer and took all the photos for my website and blogs. I love crafts, knitting, listening to all kinds of music and a good laugh. I am into spirituality, love discussing deep philosophical things and I meditate daily. I attend a feldenkreis class and practice chi gong.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can share vegetable growing information, show guests edible weeds, discuss permaculture principles. I also speak german and am interested in many different things and cultures. I can accommodate all kinds of eating styles and food preferences.

  • Help

    Help

    Some projects in the garden to control kikuyu grass which is out of control. Putting edging on a bed to keep kikuyu out. Preparing beds for winter crops. Assisting with video production for an online course on edible weeds, identifying them and how to use them. It would involve filming and editing as already mentioned. There are always projects revealing themselves to tackle.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love other languages and know how to greet in quite a few different languages, so a language learning exchange could build on the knowledge I already have.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bed room in my home. We will do the tasks for 5 hours and then I would appreciate help with meal preparation and clean up afterwards. I have plenty of food here on the property to eat!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is plenty to do in time off. Tauranga has a good bus service, there is Mount Maunganui to walk around and climb, the long beaches, waterfalls close by, McLarens Falls park and swimming, kayaking, Otaniwainuku native forest is not far way and Tauranga has the historic village to explore. As mentioned Greerton, the suburb where I live has op shops a great library, cafes and restaurants and Yatton park located on a historic park is nearby with enormous old trees.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have good wifi connection and I know this because I had a woman here who had no trouble teaching English online to people in China.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 496359458916