Help us develop our peace loving community close to Montréal, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 1336 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    459

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small peacefull community located on a 34 acres plot of woodland. We're located an hour north of Montreal, residing in a beautiful, densely forested area. We have a calm, positive, and creative lifestyle, with time and space to practice meditation and yoga daily. All meals are vegan/vegetarian. Our site is entirely drug, cigarette, alcohol free.

    We always have a lot going on in terms of creative projects, right now we are building more tiny houses for community residents and renovating some of the existing buildings. We always need people to help us with basic general maintenance as well :) Whatever your skills, there should be something you can help with while enjoying the pace of peaceful lifestyle.

    We require candidate to be willing to invest a minimum of one months with us and to perform volunteer work for about 25h/ week maximum.

    Most of the work here is basic house work: cleaning the main house and the cabins, and taking care of the animals. The other work is often gardening, construction based or soon snow shovelling and snow blowing.

    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    Our community's values and guidelines :

    Peacefulness : quiet, no rushing, running, over exertion, be easy on yourself

    Authenticity : introspective, non-superficial, true

    Addiction free : No drug, no alcohol, no cigarette

    Loving and positive and supportive environment: Authentic, caring, no complaining, no fault finding in others.

    Selflessness : Ego transcendence is important to us, working not for our own sake alone but for the sake of the community, we feel an expansion of ourselves and experience deeper happiness.

    Creativity: No limit
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    More info about us:

    Who are you going to meet when you visit ?

    The community is run by Stanislas, 31 years old, creative and visionary, he’s the manager of the construction work. Born in France, he moved to canada 11 years ago. He would be happy to practice english with you ou de vous aider à apprendre le français. And of course share constrution art skills.

    You will also meet many other community residents and volunteers from around the world who share different passions

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Art and construction project, Yoga, meditation and vegan/vegetarian diet are important parts of our daily life.

    Might also be good to mention that we have many cats (5), a poney, donkey and 2 miniature pigs ;)

  • Help

    Help

    We have a mini donkey, pony, and 2 miniature pigs which all need daily care.
    - Landscaping and forestry:

    Trail management: digging trenches to the mini-power shovel, and maintaining the forest (cutting and harvesting dead trees for firewood).

    Gardening, weeding, harvesting.

    - Housekeeping:

    General maintenance and Housekeeping at home (dishes, sweeping, mopping, etc)

    - Welcome customers and answer questions when they come by the house (if you speak French)

    -tiny house project

    .....Many different options

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    4 bedrooms in the main building house and 3 tiny house for long term stay. You’ll share the common areas of the house with us (living room, kitchen, bathroom), wifi. Access to our 34 acres of woodland during your free time.

    There’s a public beach at 2.5km and the town’s main street with some stores, at 5km.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you want to come here, you will need to make your way to Montreal, and from there we may be able to pick you up if we're planning on going to the city that day. If not, you will have to take the bus or metro to the nearby city of Saint Jerome, where we will be able to pick you up.

    We’re one hour away from Montreal and we go there at least once a week. You can come along if you wish to spend time there to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25h / week, usually 3.5h/day

We do yoga every day here, sometimes more than once if we feel like it
We have many animals here, including two pigs, a pony, a donkey, ducks, and many cats.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


























Host ref number: 494839235255