Come to South-West France and help out with our house and garden

Country

France

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    After many and varied careers/jobs we are living the French dream having retired very early. We have a beautiful house and garden close to a small market town. Our interests include watercolour and oil painting, gardening, spinning, dyeing, weaving and D.I.Y. The garden is about two acres and like a park. (think Monet) There are no children and no pets. The garden is full of interesting birds and wildlife. We would like some help with gardening, D.I.Y. maintenance, de-cluttering and housework. Its very quiet here so would probably suite more mature helpers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help with gardening such as weeding, digging, pruning, grass and hedge cutting. The shutters need sanding down and repainting and the wall around the pool needs rendering, so some help with these would get the job done. We have many boxes of stuff in the attic and basement which need sorting as part of our de-cluttering project, help to move the boxes around and help in making unemotional ruthless decisions about getting rid of junk would be much appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer our helpers a large bedroom with use of the family bathroom and family shower room. This is a big house so there is private sitting space easily found if desired. We have wifi broadband. We have a swimming pool that you are welcome to use. We offer home cooked meals shared with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not smoke and prefer helpers who do not smoke. We also prefer helpers unaccompanied by children and pets. The house is within walking distance of the town of Aigre (10-15 mins.) It is very quiet and there is no night life. The nearest airports are Limoges and Poitiers. The T.G.V. stops at Angouleme. I am willing to pick helpers up from the train station at Luxe.
    In your free time you can relax in the garden, use the swimming pool, walk in the beautiful countryside on our doorstep, or walk into town. We have bicycles you can borrow (although they may need some work first!) There are lots of flat and quiet lanes to cycle on. Spinners are welcome to borrow a spinning wheel.
    The historic towns of Angouleme and Cognac are less than an hour away by car and well worth a visit. The area is agricultural and there are grape vines and sunflowers in the fields. The Charente is the second sunniest region of France.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We expect 5 hours help each day

Host ref number: 494313311425