Pet/housesitter needed with great location in Fort Lauderdale Florida - USA

Country

United States

Favourited 357 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    59.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida , USA. Have lived here 12 and am originally from the state of Rhode Island . I am very down to earth and love to travel and meet new people and learn new cultures. I am here for help and to possibly meet and make friends from all over the world since work makes it easy and accessible . I currently use another platform as well , and have hosted over 40 people from there but now am seeking something more long term that could benefit both of us . I live in a two bedroom place that’s pretty spacious , one room is an animal/hobby room and the other is my bedroom . I am a new flight attendant and due to being away often for work /family stuff , need help with my pets and someone who can work indendently and take care of things and my place and keep it clean and neat while I’m gone. I am usually gone 2-4 days a week sometimes more if I travel on days off . This being said You Must be detail oriented and like pets of all kinds (read below ) , and be a good communicator and not lazy if you want to work-away with me . Otherwise I’m cool with friends since I can get unlimited free flights all over the world . So you can shoot me a message either way .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am USA born and raised and know the area pretty well since I’ve lived here a bit . Can exchange things about our culture here and show you some of the area and about my lifelong passion which is animals . Can teach you about reptiles , breeding and about my other pets .

  • Help

    Help

    I am a newer flight attendant and am away half of the week most the time . I have a pet collection as well and need someone who can take care of them and spend time with them when I’m away since most pet sitters can only come for an hour a day or so . So you’d be housesitting/pet sitting . I have reptiles , fish , plants , and two medium sized hyper friendly dogs . I breed some of my pets as a hobby and sell their young so the work involved is not hard or very time consuming but attention to detail is key as in changes of behavior, checking for eggs being laid , babies born etc . Also could possibly use help with other random household things ,like painting and re-decorating , since the work isn’t time consuming the most 1.5-2 hrs daily if that . So would be great for someone who wants to find something part time in the area or go out and explore the day not just sit in the house all day . If you get a part time job or something less other things will be expected of you, if you are going to be in the house all day more will be expected . Need someone who can work independently most the time and can pay attention to detail , be responsible and neat and have common sense and understand English well. Nothing I own bites or is aggressive but some people may fear the reptiles because of how they “look” but they are harmless ! Dogs are friendly but can be a bit hyper at times and they are strong and they need someone who can be stern with otherwise they will take advantage of things . So if you are friendly , social , like animals , can take initiative , can be stern , are clean , have Common sense , Can pay attention to details and like tropical weather shoot me a message . You are essentially my eyes and ears when I am gone so can’t stress the attention to detail and taking notes and remembering tasks at hand.

    Longer stays can be done but not guaranteed right away since my latter people haven’t been as great and hassle free as my most current people . So can do a minimum of two weeks and if all goes well can be ongoing

    So again You be :
    Responsible, like animals , have initiative and an eye for detail , goal oriented , pro active , eager to learn , clean/neat , know how to communicate , patient , have a good memory , respectful , have owned an animal before , no substance abuse problems , have taken care of a place before or lived on your own , can understand English verbally .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on where you are in the USA I can possibly get you a ticket here to Florida .* or if you are in certain Caribbean countries that spirit airlines goes to . I have 2 sofas and tv and WiFi in the living room which is where you’d stay . When I am away for work you’d be here alone and pretty much have your own place and can use my bedroom if wanted , there is also a futon in my bedroom aside from my bed . I can take care of some food if Really needed but you have your own place to take out dogs a few times a day and feed and check on reptiles which all the time added up is less then two hrs .

    My place is very modest and nothing fancy not state of the art of anything ...just an older place in a great /safe neighborhood and location . So got those who seek fancy accommodations this is not for you . Need the more modest traveler who has stayed in hostels and random places and can pretty much stay anywhere like myself ! So like minded people !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in a great location that’s very central and within 3 miles of the airport , downtown (bars, clubs , resturants ) the beach , cruise port and train and bus stations to Miami . Before replying to ensure you read the whole profile to avoid confusion add the word New England when you reply

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 1-3 hrs a day, 5 days a week

My living room
Two of my reptiles (blue tongue skinks )
One of my geckos
Fendi my hyper old dog
Petra my other dog you’d be taking care of (the strong and hyper one )
New job that’s sparking being a workway host

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 491692927912