Visit our permaculture project in Sicily, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 646 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    37  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    505

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***BEFORE WRITING TO US; PLEASE CAREFULLY READ THROUGH OUR PROFILE - THANK YOU! :) ***

    Hello everyone!
    , we live on a three hectare land with an old house, working on realising the dream of our permaculture project ... and we need your help!

    HOW DO WE LIVE?

    We have a room with three beds for the volunteers in the old house (and eventually a double bed for couples), as well as tents and hammocks on the land (from March to October), you can decide where you want to sleep.
    We have healthy, seasonal and genuine food and we enjoy to cook and have breakfast, lunch and dinner together!(it doesn't mean that we have to cook for you)
    We recycle most of our water, so we use *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ only natural soaps and toothpaste *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    --> NO CHEMICAL PRODUCTS, PADS AND TAMPONS ALLOWED, BRING NATURAL PRODUCTS
    We're trying our best to be absolutely zero waste, so for this reason we ask to all the women that come here to use a menstrual cup instead of the common pads and tampons.
    We only use compost toilets.
    We have dogs, cats and chickens who enjoy living totally free with us.


    WHO ARE WE LOOKING FOR?

    If you are an open-minded, motivated, mature, responsible, happy, curious and independent person, we would love to have you here with us! We live in the countryside, so there are insects - if you don't like this, then maybe this is not the right place for you! everyone here takes his or her responsibility for him- or herself and the group. We are a big family, but (fortunately! ;-) ) there is no mum or dad who tidy up behind us, so we all care for the cleanliness of this beautiful place.

    We look for skilled, smiling and responsible people, who want to share their talents, thoughts, time and helping hand with us. We like to share our passion for nature, animals, plants and our permaculture project with you, if you are interested to living and learning in harmony with nature, respecting and caring for it.


    "Who doesn't change its habits when going to a new place, will drown, just like someone who jumps into the sea and instead of swimming he / she continues to walk."

    We would like to invite you to leave all your habits behind, and dive into our place as into a new world, where you can discover a different way of living, perceiving nature, people and yourself.

    P.S THE FIRST WEEK WILL BE A TRIAL, so if we see that there's no interest on the project from you, we would ask you to leave to get the possibility to other people.


    P.P.S PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN PANTOFFOLE to keep your feet warm in the house!!! :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here, you'll live in close contact with nature. You'll discover a different way of living by sharing our everyday life. You can learn about Permaculture, food forest, animals, earthworm compost, cooking, Italian, and so many other things! Consider that we are not able to teach you everything that is listed beforehand. We do many different things and works in different times, but not every day. In (the first) two weeks you will learn a lot by observing, listening, helping and understanding. The longer you stay, the more you'll learn, of course, because in the beginning time is needed to get to know each other, to get into the rhythm of life . As we always have many volunteers, who come (and then, unfortunately go :), we have to explain the same things more or less every two weeks. This is sometimes exhausting, so we need you to put some energy into listening and observing well in the beginning. Be curious like a child, observe, ask, help with little things first, ... the faster you'll immerse into our world, in which we want to invite you.

    The only thing we own and want to share with you is our time, this beautiful place, and our dream of what it can become. To make this place become a home for us, you and the many after us, we want to invest all our time and energy. So let's not loose time, but let's express clearly what we / you need, wish, and feel, in order to understand each other, empathise and make each minute a precious and beautiful one.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the season, we have a variety of things and projects going on, which we'll list below. A part from the seasonal work to do, the everyday things in life, such as cooking, cleaning, feeding the animals, etc. are things you can easily help us with, and it is precious help. A part from those tasks, you'll definitely be involved in our other projects in the garden or construction works, we just want you to be aware that your help in our home and house is probably the most important one!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ IF YOU COME IN SPRING, we usually
    - prepare the garden for the summer
    - build eco-buildings
    - start going to the sea and lakes close by
    - prepare the campsite for the tourists

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ IF YOU COME IN SUMMER, we usually
    - care for the garden
    - go to the sea to swim
    - harvest vegetables and fruit
    - conserve fruit and vegetable, make tomato sauce
    - do creative tasks
    - start harvesting almonds, carobs and other things
    - make music and sing

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️IF YOU COME IN AUTUMN, we usually
    - harvest nuts, olives and fruit
    - close the campsite
    - prepare the garden for the winter
    - build eco-constructions
    - get wood for the winter
    - enjoy the first days of rain, staying in our warm house
    - plant trees

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ IF YOU COME IN WINTER, we usually
    - make handcraft, working wood, leather, wool and other natural material
    - enjoy the cosiness of our house
    - get wood for the stove
    - do house maintenance
    - project the next year
    - do everyday tasks, keep the house tidy and nice
    - cooking

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️EVERYDAY THINGS TO DO
    - cooking
    - caring for the house, the animals and yourself
    - eating good food
    - having fun
    - wash what is dirty
    - smiling

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a 3 beds shared room into our home, or you can choose (in hot season) to stay in your tent/hammock outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The closest train station is in Siracusa. There's good connections from Northern Italy (Rome, Naples and Milano) for Night-line Trains. So If you can, come by bus or train, help us and nature and save CO2 when you travel through Europe and Italy!

    There's a bus stop in the town close by, called Canicattini Bagni. You can take a bus from Siracusa, Catania or Palazzolo Acreide to come here! The local bus transport is called AST, check out its timetables online.

    If you only can take the plane, the closest airport is Catania Fontanarossa, you can take the bus or train here for Siracusa and then from Siracusa the bus to Canicattini Bagni (check online AST, the local public transport: )
    Our location is about 3km from Canicattini Bagni.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)






























Host ref number: 176349233855