Help with gardening, maintenance and other jobs in Northland, New zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are the guardians of this block which was farmed until the 1970's and has been regenerating bush ever since. This became our block in 1995. We are owner builders of a mud brick house. Teaching to pay expenses, we seek sustainability and harmony with the environment. We have orchards, gardens, timber trees, geese, a dog and a cat.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers must be fit, mature, motivated, mindful and ready for all weather. Our site is remote and there is no cell phone reception at the house. We are well travelled and are bicycle friendly.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Some french, little spanish, Cebuano, Tok Pisin

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a hike-in bush hut and sometimes can offer a bed in the upstairs of our garage. There is a waterless composting toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are on the edge of big forest so bush walks are on our doorstep. Within two km there is a swimming hole and beaches are 20km (20min.) away. We like volunteers to pitch in around the kitchen at mealtimes, and to tidy up after themselves. The closest bus stop is at Taipa, SH10. We have bicycles to lend.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The beach in spring.
Host ref number: 485951474847