Meet lots of people and experience real Irish culture in our Edwardian property and gardens, near Drogheda, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 802 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    51

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We spent many years overseas in Australia and Norway, and in 2010 we came home and built on to the beautiful out buildings here, and moved in with our four boys now aged 23, 21, 16 and 13. Over the last few years we have established an Art Gallery, and Tea rooms. There are Edwardian Walled Gardens here, open to the public in the spring and summer and providing fresh produce for the family and Tea Rooms. There are 6 acres of walled garden and woodlands. There are also a few small fields used as grazing land.

    As well as the Gardens and Gallery we also run weekly yoga classes and regular workshops. In the spring and summer months we host charity events, art and craft classes, bird watching talks, garden tours, outings for active retirement groups etc. We have hosted an outdoor concert on the grass tennis court, a theatre event in the gallery and even a murder mystery event. We also cater for small intimate garden weddings. We are only 2 kilometres from Drogheda, but we are completely surrounded by woods and farmland.

    We are also in the middle of converting one of the old out buildings into a micro distillery.

    This is a place where Art and Nature meet, and a place that visitors never want to leave. To summarise there is always something new, interesting and different different happening here and never a dull moment.

    Myself and my husband mainly work at home with the gardens, tea rooms, plant shop and gallery. Our oldest son is a mechanical engineer and the other 3 boys are still at school.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will have the opportunity to meet and help out alongside a wide variety of people. There will be ample opportunities to learn about Irish Art, culture and the Irish Tourism industry etc. We always have a huge variety of different and interesting people passing through. There are opportunities for volunteers to gain knowledge in the areas of gardening and the performing arts.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Our place is very busy during the summer months, and is always helpful to have an extra pair of hands. As you can see we have a lot going on here and no work is ever the same or standard. Previous volunteers have helped in the tea rooms, with plants for the garden shop, showing people around the gallery, cutting grass and other work in the Victorian gardens, showing tourists around, helping with all of the odd animals and generally keeping the place presentable and tidy etc. Volunteers will be very much treated as one of the family and encouraged to participate in many family and work activities. Help with social media is always very much appreciated. Most importantly volunteers need to be happy, friendly and easy going. In the summer months especially, it is helpful if volunteers have some experience with helping in a cafe or as a barista.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish and Norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very large shared room room in the family house .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are only about 40 minutes from Dublin, and there are regular buses and trains. We are 2kms from the nearest town of Drogheda and we can provide travellers with a bicycle. Drogheda is one of Irelands oldest towns and has a buzzing arts scene and plenty to do. We are close to many famous tourist sights such as Newgrange, and our location is encompassed in 'Ireland's Ancient East'. Several of our boys are very involved in music and we are all very happy to introduce guests to the local music pub scene. My parents live close by and they frequently have workaway guests to help them in their house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day,










Host ref number: 485899574533