Give us a help renovating an old house near the beach and farming in the food garden at Costa da Caparica, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a happy portuguese couple, Carla and Daniel, that loves travelling, meet new cultures and experience new flavours, knowledges, music and adventures, as well as spread the portuguese culture abroad.
    This year, while traveling, we have decided that was about time to share all this at other level and bring those experiences to our new home, where we want to start a guesthouse hopping to cherish tourists, portuguese and foreigners, with gastronomic, cultural and spiritual acknowledge that we have been experienced so far.
    We also aim to show our beautiful and rich portuguese culture to foreign tourists and to promote outdoor activities, such as surf, yoga, trekking, fish at the beach with our fisherman's (who still uses the old traditional portuguese technique, the Arte Xavega), to practice and learn permaculture in our garden, where we plant and grow the vegetables with so much love. This is all extendable to our volunteers too, off course!
    We want to build a place where we can all feel harmony, in body and soul.
    The proximity to the beach (1km) and to the protected area of the Arriba Fóssil bush, makes it all possible, whether is in the hot summer time or in more mild season.
    We count on you to help us develop these concepts and also want to give you the opportunity to live with us an unforgettable experience, calm and aligned with nature.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting people from all over the world and have nice discussions over dinner.
    You are welcome to bring us your experiences and culture. We love to learn new things.
    As a traveller's we also use to stay in other people houses, so we are pleased to offer our for traveller's now.
    We live close to Lisbon (around 15 km). You can easily go by public transports and visit cultural places, see some concerts, go to a cinema, markets, meet different people, whatever you may want to do in a capital city.
    Also the beach is a must and 1Km distant.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are seeking for help starting the middle of May on, with the maintenance of the food garden and the preparation of the guesthouse, which we will start this year.
    We will need to make some works and cleanings in the house and prepare the outside space, for the opening of the season, starting in June.
    It is also time to plant new vegetables in the garden, so that we have the yummy and healthy food to share with our guests and volunteers.
    Because the preparation of the guesthouse will take us a lot of time, we will definitely need your precious help.
    We are permaculture followers, everything we plant is bio, no chemicals at all are allowed in our garden. It is fundamental for us, to have a balance between the food we grow, and the ones we also consume, such as home made products (olive oil, honey, etc) and for example the fish we bring directly from the fisherman's, that sometimes Daniel helps them to fish.
    We are looking for someone who loves the nature and that is a polite, friendly and kind person.
    We also want to learn from you new things and share experiences, that allow us to grow as human beings, even on a professional way.
    Acknowledge must be a constant in our lives, so that we can all evolute.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the period, it may be on a single or a shared room. Our accommodation capacity is for 2 volunteers and you can stay in the house for free during 1 month, 3 meals inclued.
    If you are a couple, please let us know in advance so that we can provide the space.
    We provide coffee, tea and water daily, as well as food from the garden and eggs.
    If you feel more confortable though, you may bring your own tent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Send us an e-mail telling your experiences, expectations and for how long you want to stay with us.
    Because we want to have volunteers that we can rely on, it is very important for us to also know from you, before you come, so that we can feel your vibe and be sure that it will work out just fine.
    Trust, respect and sense of responsibility, are values we ask in return.
    Oh and by the way, bring us your joy too!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 485832353662