Help with DIY in a house in the countryside of North of France

  • France
  • Favourited 26 times
  • Last activity: 19/11/2022

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    My name is Dominique.
    I took over our old family farm (was a farm but is not used as such anymore) in Avesnois area (north of France, city : Prisches) and I try to renovate it into a holiday cottage.
    The house is in my family since 3 generations. I am renovating it step by step since a while but I now want to make a more serious move and update the first floor (move things, break walls, create bedrooms etc).
    If you are interested with spending a little time in the north of France countryside don't hesitate to contact me I would be very happy to meet you and grateful to have your help.
    The place is quite lovely, there is an accessible pound close by.
    We also have ping-pong table and basket ball kind of playground (used a lot by my nefews).
    There is space to sleep inside (room with bed) and space to sleep outside in a tent if you prefer.
    I can't propose you a wage unfortunately but during your stay I propose to prepare the food for lunch and for dinner (if you prefer to cook your own plate there is no problem also).
    My job before retirement 1 year ago was cook, so I will be happy to teach you how to prepare some dishes.
    I usually stay during the week in the old farm to work and come back to Lille on the weekend where I live with my wife.
    In the area there is the Mormal forest where it is very nice.
    Maroilles city is not far (famous for a specific cheese), and also Le Cateau where there is the Henri Matisse museum .
    If you are interested I would be happy to bring you there.
    Many thanks for your interest and don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be hosted in the house with me. I only speak French and a little English.
    You will have the possibilty to discover the neighborhood, north of France and its culture (belgian beers, french fries etc.).
    I am a former cook so I will make you discover French dishes.
    Hope you will be interested to come, help me and have fun in France.

  • Help

    Help

    The help I need is in 2 steps :

    1 : help to shift furnitures from one place to another
    2 : help to knock walls down

    + general handy work

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the house there is a room at ground level and 4 bedrooms (with beds) at the first floor.
    So even if we start working on the first floor there is space to sleep inside.
    There is still the possibility to sleep outside in the garden, I have tents and inflating matress.
    Regarding bathrooms, the necessary is in the house but we also have 2 toiltets in an annexe next to the house.
    There is a bathroom with everything that you need in the house already.

    I will cook and provide the food.
    Of course people want to cook there is no problem.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a car that I can lend during the week-end if necessary.
    Close to the house there are towns with museum, a big forest etc.
    Lille and Belgium is not that far.
    The farm is in the countryside. It is a beautiful place with space and nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet is available with high speed. An office can be organized

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The house has space to welcome vans camping-car etc

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 heures par jour, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 482897791755

Photos

Feedback