1 / 2

Garden and Yard tasks and small construction jobs in the country, with exposure to horse training methods, south of Ottawa, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 58 times
  • Last activity: 26 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    I am a retired public servant with a common-law spouse who is semi-retired. Our 25-acre farm needs work to re-claim gardens which have become over-grown, and to maintain the yard to bring it back to a more orderly appearance (i.e. overgrown weeds in the yard, tree branches that need trimming, and young trees that need to be pulled up. The house also needs some de-cluttering which I find easier with another person to motivate me to get the job done.

    June/July is hay season and we may be baling hay in small squares. Help to load 2 - 3 wagons would be appreciated. It is hard work, but fun when done with a group.

    I train horses now that I'm retired. I change behaviours in horses that may be unsafe. Sometimes this is due to pain or discomfort from ill-fitting tack; sometimes it is due to training gaps. I educate the owner to help them better understand their horse. I have ample opportunity to ride with other local horse people and would welcome company from experienced riders on these outings.

    We are non-smokers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have an organic farm, so organic practices would be learned. No herbicides or pesticides are used in the gardens. I am also a trainer and would welcome company on horse training sessions (no help required with training) and if interested to learn how to change behaviour, watching the session could provide some insight to natural horsemanship. Accompanying on trail rides would offer exposure to other local riders and some potlucks.

  • Help


    We are a small organic 25-acre horse farm. Help is needed to re-claim gardens, repair the barn by reconstructing a new barn door and hanging it, and yard maintenance. Some help with house work is also needed (de-clutter). Trail riding may be available depending on the riding skill of the traveller. We have 5 horses and travel off-property to locals trails in the area. The day would be spit with work and riding.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    English, French, German (limited), others (interested to learn)

  • Accommodation


    We have a 1 1/2 story house on a 25-acre farm, and would provide a bedroom (queen-sized bed) and meals. No vegans please as I do not know how to make vegan meals. The bathroom is shared. Access to Wifi is provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located 1 hour south of Ottawa. It is quiet and in the country with lots of green space. Occasional trips to the city may be arranged depending on the work schedule and completion of projects. We have music get-togethers on Sundays, so if you can play an instrument, feel free to join in.

    I am retired, but train horses part-time. There are 5 horses on the property, all rideable. However, any rides would be accompanied by the owner for safety. We have a horse trailer and are about 1/2 hour from local trails. I fix behavioural issues such as trailer loading, bucking, bolting, and ground manners. You would be welcome to accompany me on training sessions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are retired, so available during the week with projects. I have clients with horse problems and I travel to them to resolve issues. If you are interested in the horse training aspect, you are welcome to join me. However, liability insurance limits your involvement.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 482542355338

Feedback (1)



Volunteer in Okotoks AB, Canada
Help around the home and acreage near Airdrie Alberta, Canada