Experience boat life and learn about sailboats and rigging in beautiful Hawaii, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 426 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    74.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! I am a cruising sailer in Hawaii. I have been restoring my boat for 4 years while sailing Hawaii. My interest is to go to the South Pacific in the next year or two. Also love sailing locally, diving, snorkeling, paddle boarding.
    Boat life is a minimalist lifestyle, all self sustaining equipment solar powered. Water is free, bring your refillable water bottle. Minimal use of plastics, healthy lifestyle. Pack lightly.

    I need an extra hand to help with my projects an I like to have company on the boat with me. I like your input on creative work

    The help could be cleaning stainless, sanding wood, painting, varnishing, sewing, and any general boat tasks that comes up. I forgot taping there is always taping. Though most of the big paint projects are completed. We do tasks on the boat while in the water, we jump in when hot, the water is beautiful and warm, and you can take my SUP for a spin anytime.

    Our helping agreement would be 3 hrs per day. 5 days out of 7, approx 15 hrs per week. you help on top of that with some cooking and keeping the boat clean in the living spaces like you would at home. Sometimes we have to do a longer day to get a project to a stopping point, i would make that up in sailing more or if you wanted time off.
    We sail regularly on days off, sailing, snorkeling, whale watching etc. in return for the 15 hrs. I also take ventures around town and hikes or visit beaches from land in the evenings or on days off.

    I’d be able to teach you how rigging and sails work on my sailboat. I have books to read if your interested. There are some things I teach, you need to learn for sailing. A few knots used regularly, how to assist me raising or lowering sails, and assist in docking. I can do it all myself, but with an extra person it’s easier. I can also teach you lots more if sailing is your passion

    You can visit two close beach’s by foot to dive -swim.

    About the boat. She a 36’ Hans Christian Cutter. You can look the model up online it you want to see more boat information. This vessel is made to and equipt to cruise the world I have her rigging sails, safety equipment in good repair.

    Your only expense is you pay for your own personal items , and chip in at the market for cost of foods, we cook meals together. I have most the makings, spices, the galley has a 3 burner stove, refrigeration, oven and double sink.

    There are semi private sleeping berths with room for your few personal items and soft luggage. Know that Boat living is living in close quarters, not a lot of privacy.

    There is no WiFi on the boat but there is phone service most everywhere. I have a hotspot I can use occasionally.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about a sailboats rigging and systems. Enjoy sailing, Swimming snorkeling. Hawaiian lifestyle
    Visit Hawaii with a place to stay. Accessible to hiking, beaches towns on island.

  • Help

    Help

    Sailboat Maintance includes sanding, cleaning, polishing, handing me tools in cramped spaces, sewing, taping, paint and varnish, etc..

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    40’ sailboat. The forward V berth next to head. Head is shared. Private door to this area. Shower, (cold). Also a aft berth beside companionway,
    Galley and ice box on board.

    If we got along well and you wanted to continue staying on my boat and sailing with me it’s a possibility. Ask me if interested.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Car rentals available at local airport 4 miles away. Town is also 4 miles. Costco, target, health food stores, grocery. Barbecue, galley available on boat. All island activities available to you on your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hrs per day 5 days week. 15 hrs total or I repay with extra sailing

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 481296483474