Come experience the city of Chicago, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 246 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/07/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    It's been wonderful hosting people and being workawayers ourselves. It's a great way to feel instant connection to a community.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anna is a human rights lawyer and I'm a filmmaker. We are both in our early forties with shared backgrounds in theatre, food, and nature. We are passionate about social justice and volunteer at several organizations which we'd be happy to share with you.
    I've lived in Chicago for the past fifteen years as a food addict, filmmaker and lover of world music, so I'd be happy to share some special places around town.
    We also enjoy the occasional karoake, hot pot, and dance party.

  • Help

    Help

    Do you enjoy gardening, permaculture, building, housework or construction?

    My friend and I just purchased a building with two apartments and a large yard. We live in the upstairs unit and have a spare bedroom for guests and workaways.

    There is a lot to do to around the building, prepping for the winter with installation, putting in electrical in the basement, sealing the foundation, etc.

    We could also use help building up the yard for next spring. We are major proponents of permaculture and have begun a large hugelmound with biochar. This might be a foreign language to some but hopefully these words find the enthusiasts out there.
    I have a strong background in gardening, foraging, and urban homesteading and would love to learn more with you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own bedroom and a real bed. You'll share the rest of the apartment with me and my housemate, Anna. There's a kitchen, living room, two bathrooms. We work early so we are quiet by ten pm and at work by nine am.

    We enjoy cooking and are happy to provide meals ( I cook thai, vietnamese, italian, american.... it's a long list) and groceries if you enjoy cooking. Please throughly clean up after yourselves when you do cook.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Chicago is an amazing city and we are ten minutes from downtown and several of the world's reknowned museums and cultural spaces. I have memberships to all the musuems and would be happy to get you free tickets. There is theater, improv, comedy, the lake, the architecture. Music! So much good live music and a lot of it is free. We have several friends in bands and would love to take you to their shows. There is so much to do in the city!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 479617175177