Learn how to build an earthbag home near Yosemite, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am in the process of building an earthbag dome house by myself and could use some help. If you are interested in green building, this is a good project to learn. I live in California on 15 acres in the mountains close to Yosemite National Park. My 84 year old father also lives here with two cats and one dog. We have WIFI. We eat a clean diet of veggies, fruits and some meat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help teach a style of green building as well as help with English. Yosemite is 30 miles away and has lots of climbing, hiking and swimming areas. I am an energy healer and love to walk, cook, garden, talk metaphysics and do yoga. On the weekends, I rock climb with friends (top rope). You could come with us and learn or enjoy rock climbing.

  • Help

    Help

    I am building an earthbag home. It means digging and moving dirt with a wheelbarrow, mixing the earth, sand , lime, cement and paper in a cement mixer with water. This mix is then poured into wheelbarrows and then lifted by coffee cans up to the walls of the house on a ladder. It is then poured into the bags and tamped to dry. Very dirty, but rewarding work. The house is maybe halfway done. You will learn a green, sustainable style of building.
    We also mix clay plasters and apply them to the walls which are wired with chicken wire, inside and out, along with building frames and doors and putting in windows, There are many other ongoing projects including gardening, tile work, trench digging, weed whacking, cleaning, general repairs, furniture rehab, all during the week. I have solar panels that need to be installed, as well. On the weekends, I go rock climbing for fun.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a full bed in a large space for warm weather and a small room for cold. In the summer there is camping. I would supply food and area for cooking. Would do communal dinners at times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We, (my father and I ) don't smoke or drink but reasonable recreational use is OK. There is a town 8 miles away (Mariposa) with a grocery and health food store, some restaurants, etc. We go there every few days. A bus goes to Yosemite Park and town. I go rock climbing on the weekends (top rope). The Merced river is a few miles away for swimming.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4- hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 473181673917