Help our family and also speak Italian to help us learn in Greenville, Texas, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 383 times
  • Last activity: 30 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    Our family lives in a smaller growing town just East of Dallas, TX. We have a home on 7 acres with a pool to cool you down in the heat of summer.

    Dallas is an amazing city with many things for youngsters to see and do - excellent arts district and great shopping and dining.

    We are surrounded by lakes for fishing and water sports.

    We have a 28 year old who traveled for 2 years with "workaway" and now lives and works in Dayton, Ohio.
    Our other son, Hanco, is 27 years old ... he works with his dad, lives at home with his beautiful family (wife Kara, Klaire (3) and Daniel (1). He is quite busy, but they are usually around for game nights and BBQs by the pool.

    We live in a city with no public transportation, so travel days should be planned ahead of time so you can be dropped at the bus stop to venture into Dallas, or other cities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a South African (Afrikaans) family living in the USA for 24 years. We can offer two cultural experiences at once.

    We are looking to host some enthusiastic, friendly young people who can join us as part of the family so we can all make some wonderful memories together. Life is too short to just chug along in our own little world --- we would love to share our world with yours and learn of your culture and life experiences.

    We would love to help our visitors see some of the USA by helping with inexpensive travel plans and offer advice and guidance. We try to show them around Dallas a bit as well. (Dallas Sights, Ft Worth & Rodeo)

    On occasion I allow responsible workaways to use my own car with a security deposit for damages.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help with some home maintenance & yard work to keep the property tidy.

    Your duties will range from the mundane (water plants, to cleaning the house/garage, streaming laundry, garden work, sweeping the pool, keeping yard tidy from fallen branches/leaves, babysitting) to carpentry / painting (helping me build things when needed or revamping some living space with a fresh coat of paint or stain).

    We have hosted 34 workaways to date (5/29/3022) and have enjoyed the experience very much.
    Apart from the enjoyment we get from having people in the house to share conversation and laugh and learn from each other, our main objective is to have help with with daily chores/cooking.

    We expect about 20hrs of work per week.

    I have been trying to learn Italian but it's very slow going. I hope to pick up a few words.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would like to learn Italian

  • Accommodation


    We have two bedrooms downstairs - most of the time the one with en-suite bathroom is available, but if occupied by my father, the bathroom will be shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The USA is really a car country. Even if you live in Dallas, you still need a car to get around.
    Although we are in the country, Uber has finally reached Greenville, TX.
    Movies are within 2 miles (walk, bicyle or Uber).
    Town is about 4 miles.
    Dallas is about 40 miles away - if really needed there is a Greyhound bus that can take you to Dallas or Houston ... or anywhere else really.
    No Trains.
    No Trams.
    If you are over 22 and you have an international Drivers license, you have the option to use our car with a $500 damage deposit.
    We will make sure you get to see the sights around Dallas and take you shopping whenever needed.
    I work in a HUGE shopping city (Frisco, TX) - you can come to work with me some days and spend all day shopping if you want.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have fast internet with wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a paved, shaded RV stand that was used for a 5th wheel and class A RV.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 472538232868

Feedback (12)



Tiny home construction and natural earth bag building in Bisbee, Arizona, USA
Have fun with our family and help out around the house in Arlington, USA