Looking for help on our farm near the small town of Cheviot near Christchurch, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 247 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 24 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there we are sheep & beef farmers and would welcome help from non smoking couples (male/female) ranging from gardening to animal care.
    We farm 5 km from a small town of Cheviot (1.5 hours north of Christchurch & 1 hour south of Kaikoura).
    There are some awesome views to the mountains from our farm. The farm is set in a peaceful location and self contained accommodation is private and separate from the house.
    It is best suited to COUPLES who like privacy but we do try to include you with our family when possible. We supply all basic food and accommodation in return for 4 hours help a day. Any questions please email. Kind Regards Hamish

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will show you how we farm and care for the land in a sustainable way .

  • Help

    Help

    Hi there. My wife, children and I are farming mid micron sheep and Angus beef cattle. We are looking for help ranging from gardening, painting to animal care. We are keen to plant lots of trees and hedges for animal shelter and the environment. We prefer non smoking couples.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cabin set amongst trees for helpers to stay. It is 100 metres from our house and wifi is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are walking tracks and a beach nearby. There are some nice views from around the farm. We have a horse available to those who are competent in riding.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 471946245257