Come and help with conservation and community awareness projects in Carmarthenshire, Wales, UK

  • United Kingdom
  • Favourited 331 times
  • Last activity: 10/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    *****

    Covid Update.

    I do not have any accommodation for workawayers to enter isolation, so can not take people who are travelling from outside the UK and need to enter quarantine.

    ********************

    All workaway opportunities offered are on the basis of being provided with accommodation and food in exchange for assistance with projects. I believe strongly in the development of sustainable communities, therefore all paid work on the property is offered to members of the local community.

    *********************

    I have a small holding in a beautiful setting in South Wales . I am the chairman of a voluntary group focused on sustainable development linked to tourism and recreational use of the green space of the local forest and mountain. One of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

    I provide accommodation for workaways in a 3 bedroom static caravan in the spring and summer, or all year round there is hard surface parking with access to an electricity supply for those with their own accommodation. There is space to camp. All tasks workawayers will be asked to undertake involve conservation or working with community volunteers . The hours you will be asked to work will depend on the accommodation provided. It is your choice if you prefer to be provided with food to cook for yourself, or share meals.

    My priorities are finding someone interested in helping with a social media project, or someone with woodworking experience or someone who would enjoy manual labour working outside on conservation projects. I prefer to take in volunteers who are looking for longer stays to build up skills and work experience which will help them in their long term career aims rather than people looking for short stays.

    I have written up a list of the projects below.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would learn about life on a small holding in Wales

    You would learn about the heritage and culture of a forest based community in the UK.

    With any of the projects I would hope that we can learn from each other.

    The role that conservation grazing plays in a healthy ecosystem,

  • Help

    Help

    I can offer workawayers the option of the use of a static caravan on the farm (which is connected to electric supply, and mains water) Or there is hard standing for a van, or space for camping. -

    Highest priority projects.

    Constructing chicken tractors and beehives as part of conservation projects. . I need to learn the woodworking skills to be able to construct these for my self by working alongside by but will in turn be teaching you on the best designs for both.

    Hedgerow management, including hedge laying.

    The volunteers in the local tourism association need assistance with a community led project in using social media to raise the profile of the cultural heritage of the local forest and mountain and to create online descriptions of walks through the forest and mountain.


    Background projects.

    I have taken on a small holding which had not been proactively managed by the previous elderly owners. I have the space to host a team of workawayers sharing between us our collective knowledge to achieve tasks.

    There are a wide range of conservation projects that I am working on where I will be sharing my knowledge with workawayers and other situations where I would be looking for workawayers who could share their knowledge and skills.

    1. Manage the hedges for the benefit of wildlife. -

    2. Building resources for pollinators.

    3. Establishing wildflower meadows this work includes conservation grazing with sheep and penned poultry.

    4. Tackling weeds and restoring an old orchard and establishing a forest garden.

    5. .I have been reading about passive solar greenhouse, and I am interested in building one if any workawayer has the construction skills to help and can take the lead on this project.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will have the choice of use of a 3 bedroom static caravan, private hard standing space to park their own van, or space to camp.

    Alternatively, there is space for camper vans or caravans if people have their own space they wish to bring with them. With an electric hook up available as well as bathroom and WiFi.

    I go into town once a week to buy all the ingredients for the meals planned by the workawayers. Workawayers are free to cook for themselves or share meals as they prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have created space so that people can develop / work on their own business plans or do course work for their studies.

    There is a village with shop and pub in walking distance, and this is an area popular with walkers, mountain bikers, and horse riders who are in the know about the area. -

    There is a limited bus service which passes the gate (but only one bus each way a day, and none on Sunday). I am happy to give workawayers a lift into town when I am going there.

    If workawayers have their own transport Its only a short drive to the Brecon Beacon National Park, or to the longest beach in Wales.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have fibre broadband.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of hard standing.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs would be fine but must be kept on a lead at all times when outside the building.. - For other pets please contact me to discuss.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 469819398991

Feedback (10)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)












Relaxed and friendly family in the beautiful Kent countryside near London, UK
Join our happy family in Central London, UK