Help needed for repairs in a peaceful country house in Demirciler Village, Muğla, Turkey.

Country

Turkey

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    40

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I had to abandon the place i was living in and return to the city due to some family health issues, because of the urgent nature of the issues pausing my profile completely escaped my thought. I sincerely apologise for being unable to reply to workawayers that applied

    Hello all, I am Melike. I love spending time in nature, animals, camping, swimming, cinema, reading, and meeting people that belong to different cultures. I am an easy going host who is experienced in multicultural relations. I have entry level house repairing skills, and I like sharing my knowledge. After years of looking for ways to leave megapolis Istanbul for a rural life, I have finally achieved my dream 2 years ago. I also have 3 dogs, 1 cat and 11 bee hives. .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can communicate with locals who are living a rustic life, learning the local cuisine from them. I can also teach you traditional Turkish cuisine; I am a good cook. I can also teach you about bee keeping. There are many historical and archeological places in the area that you can visit, as well as touristic places. I am living in the southern Aegean Region in Turkey, in Muğla, in a mountain village that lies between Bodrum(Halicarnassus) and Milas(Mylasa). Milas is 25 minutes away and Bodrum is an hour away from where I live. The area is also surrounded by several ancient cities, one of which is Ephesus -which is 2.5 hours away- in which the biggest temple in the world, dedicated to Artemis is located. One of The Seven Wonders, The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus is also an hour away. The village I live in is located in the mountains above the Gulf of Gokova, which hosts some of the most beautiful coves on the planet. There are also many coves and beaches you can go swimming in and areas for camping. Additionally, as long as I am available I can also take you sightseeing in the local area or take you to one of the beaches.

  • Help

    Help

    I need people to help me with DIY/building projects, repair work, gardening and carpentry/woodwork. Main things that need to be done are: building door frames over existing doors, crafting and installing a screen door; shelving units and a table need to be built. There are two small bare concrete decks in the back and the front, they need a type of flooring and side covers, the entryways of the house need some fixing too. The land also requires some work, mainly building a small and simple gazebo, planting flowers around a pathway, planting trees and various other plants. For the time being I have all the carpentry tools that you might need, but if needed I can also acquire additional tools/machinery. I mainly want to use materials that I can obtain from nature.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Turkish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has 2 bedrooms, you will be staying in one of them. The bedroom has a double bed, if you are a family with a kid there is an additional bed as well; and if needed there is a large sofa in the living room too. I will be cooking most of the food (Breakfast, lunch and the dinner) but if I am not available at the time you can freely use the kitchen as well (we can also cook together if you’d like). There is only one bathroom that we will be sharing. If you have your own camping van we can also accommodate it on the premises.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My house is on the outskirts of a mountain village. There are 2 ways of reaching the city centre, beaches and the historical sites, both of which require you to walk 20 minutes through a woodland road. After reaching the village you can either take a minibus to Milas, from where you can go to many of the touristic places, beaches and historical sites; or you can hitchhike (which is frequently done by the locals) to a nearby town from the village and go to similar places through there. If i am available i can also take you to the town or the village by car. I will also get you a bus card which you can use to travel within the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 468957438137