Help us with some gardening, organising and DIY near Cambridge, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    An amazing place from which to explore Cambridge, Oxford, London and more! Join our family at our chilli farm in Bedfordshire, help with some gardening, DIY and organisational projects. In return we can provide you with comfortable, spacious private accommodation, good company and good food!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we have an on site chilli farm you can learn about the process of growing chillies, tomatillos and other fruit and veg, and try some of the tasks, dependent on the time of year. In the spring we sow seeds and pot them up, in the summer we do weeding, cut side shoots and string up the chillies, in the autumn we pick the chillies, and in the winter we clean up the poly tunnels for the next season. So there's always plenty to learn and try.
    We run a variety of experiences such as tours and workshops, so you are welcome to attend them.
    There is always a lot going on here and lots of people around to socialise with. So if you wish to practice your English, there will be many opportunities!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help in the following areas:
    * Gardening - we have a large garden and we'd love your help to bring it to its potential. Mowing, planting, trimming, weeding, picking and processing fruits etc.
    * Organising - honestly we are borderline hoarders 😄 having someone help us clear out the various rooms and outbuildings filled with old junk would be wonderful.
    * Home improvements - we have various DIY projects that need doing, such as building fences, painting benches, tables, fences, walls (lots of painting!), building a small outbuilding

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can host couples and individuals. You will stay in one of two caravans in a beautiful wooded area. You will have your own bedroom, and your own or potentially shared bathroom, kitchen and living room. We get online food deliveries twice a week. Everyone tends to cook breakfast and lunch for themselves, then usually we all eat a smorgasboard style supper together, occasionally you will need to cook supper for yourself. We will make sure you always have enough food! We have a beautiful outdoor patio so you are welcome to relax there to play cards, listen to music etc. You are welcome of course to use our laundry facilities, wifi etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is plenty of parking space if you have your own car, but if you just use public transport that is absolutely fine here too, we can pick you up from the train station. There is a bus stop a 20 minute walk away that goes to Oxford in one direction (3hrs direct) and Cambridge in the other (1h direct) as well as the local towns of St Neots, Bedford and Milton Keynes. Also the local train station in St Neots has a fast direct train to London (40mins). We are flexible about which days you work so this is a good base seen as we are well connected to many amazing places.

    If you don't have any reviews on your workaway profile, please be prepared to provide us with a reference! Please write to us with what experience and interest you have in the areas of help we are looking for.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you are a digital nomad then you will enjoy the private space of the static caravan's living room for your work. Alternatively, when the weather's nice, we love to take our laptops onto the patio and work from there. Whatever works for you :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of parking space for all size campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    Dogs might be an issue but we can talk about it.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 465446176421