Share our off-grid farm- & life-project in wild and beautiful Finnskoga, Värmland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated   Last minute

Favourited 295 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are freedom-people of international origin partly living and working on an old farm located here in beautiful Värmland close to Norway and with a Finn-culture-backround (means you experience influences of all Nordic cultures here, not only the Swedish).
    There is a lot of water and forest around, the property is situated beside the longest river in Scandinavia, the Klarälven, and nestled between two wild creeks.

    The farm is in the process of being brought into a 'Noah's Ark' for living, loving, creating and acting in freedom, with the ultimate goal being for it to become fully self sustaining, generating its own power and producing it's own food.

    Please note that we are at the very early stages of this work, so the conditions here are still relatively simple in comparison to what you might be used to at other hosts or at home, meaning access to electricity and other common place modern conveniences are limited or not as readily present.

    The general social credo is to build the right balance from individualism and an harmonic community - as much as possible independent from destroying scenarios of the ordinary 'society'.

    Therefore we are looking more for people with similar living-ideals and unorthodox priorities of life-quality (or with the true wish to really change something by honestly moving to a different lifestyle) -that are ready TO DO AND TO LEARN SOMETHING IN PRACTICE for that aim-
    than for people who just looking for a cheap and fast holiday-experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to experience a real off-grid, close to nature way of living (see hinds and free workshops under 'type of accommodation').

    Here you can see such wildlife as moose, deer, bear, bats, wulfs, foxes, beavers etc. The northern lights and the milky way or midnight-sun/bright nights are visible too, depending of the time of year.

    We also have a wood fired sauna and wood fired hot pot that you can enjoy and learn about it's maintaining and recreation-effects. Several volunteers of the last years have declared, that especially our hotpot is one of the greatest things, they have ever experienced!

    A key-point of what you can win out of our lifestyle here for your personal life, that comes more or less automatically (if you are ready in mind to develop) by sharing the free spirit here, is to come 'down to earth', e.g. to see and to feel the beauty of the body, that is given to us independent from any artificial influence or fashion standards. (You can just be as you are here, e.g. swimming naked is just natural and not a shame or exhibitionism!)

    Often our place is a platform for people who actively practice yoga and/or shamanism (also possible to establish a longtime-base for this here).

    But regarding all that gifts, please have in mind, that it needs HARD PHYSICALLY WORK to create and maintain our place, and that's also the reason, that you are here!
    Than bigger the pleasure we share - than bigger our coherence regarding the (partly difficult and dirty) works should be!

  • Help

    Help

    AT THE MOMENT,
    (means mainly FROM JUNE 2021)

    1) Help to establish a wolf proof sheep and horse fence on the meadows of river Klarälven

    2) Upcycling and storing reclaimed construction wood

    3) Painting the house

    4) Creating a Hippie-style tiny-house-village with the existing, rustic caravans and boats

    5) building and using a watermill-generator out of an old washing-machine (practical skills in working with metal necessary)

    6) herding happily living sheeps and integrating them in sustainable off-grid lifestyle (milk, cheese, yoghurt, wool, eventually meat)

    You should be prepared to work in all kinds of weather.

    We work mostly in the afternoon and evening, so mornings and noons are typically free.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in simple volunteer rooms in the house or, if you like, in a simple caravan alongside the river or creek.

    There will be access to: volunteers kitchen, beds/mattresses, wood burning stove, well water, compost toilet, flushing toilet (flushing with bucket by hand), electricity from generator or solar - the generator we use once or twice a week for powering the washing machine, dishwasher, vacuum cleaner etc, for the rest of the time we rely on solar, though, to be perfectly clear, at darker times of the year it is only enough to charge smart phones/head torch and some lamps for the house, so please be prepared for this.

    Washing is undertaken via sauna or hot pot (warm open-air-shower), with a bucket or by filling the indoor-bathtube by hand with warm water from the oven. We do not have a conventional indoor-shower at this point in time and are not connected to the main municipal water supply.

    The food- and living-cost-philosophy is based on sharing the claiming/producing of food (vegetarian, vegan and non-vegetarian contents, spices, unspoiled drinking-water) and resources (heating-wood, electricity, water, building-material) and also to share the efforts/responsibility of it's after-caring (zero-waste-policy, upcycling, proper cleaning...).
    Beside the possibility to bring in your part of bought food (e.g. from nearby grocery-shops) and resources, this is the perfect place to get practical experiences about integrating locally wild growing/living plants, berries, mushrooms, moose, fish etc. into the seasonal food-supply.

    Sometimes we cook and eat together, other times separately.

    Participation in valuable workshops regarding technical needs & knowledge to make downgraded, simple offgrid-living possible and in it's special wise even more comfortable than conventional lifestyle, is FOR FREE for volunteers (e.g. learning-sessions about maintaining and running wood-ovens; about maintaining and using a motorsaw including of sharpening tools; about how to build up and use a simple solar and generator-network; about how to make syrup out of self collected berries; about how to store food and material sustainable etc., etc.).

    For internet: there is a good 4G+ connection here, but you will have to be able to provide it through your own cellphone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport to here is by bus/train. Connections from Oslo, Copenhagen, Gothenborg and Stockholm (or elsewhere in Scandinavia) can be found through SJ.se; Värmlandstrafik or Entur.no (regarding transport from Oslo to the Swedish border).
    Name of the final bus stop near the farm is 'Höljes Handel'.

    Some items that we kindly ask you to bring for working/general living: sturdy footwear/boots, clothes that you don't mind getting dirty or destroying, strong work gloves, pre-charged headtorch (ideally with long lasting accu that is easily rechargeable), waterproofs, sleeping bag, towel, a mattress sheet.

    (It is a huge extra-effort for us to frequently wash sheets/towels here, so it is crucial that you bring your own in a clean condition - the same applies to the other items listed above.)


    For your free time there are a lot of hiking possibilities in the area.
    We have nearby (for example) a sizeable WW2 bunker complex, some small waterfalls, nature reserves, viewing towers, a hydro electric dam...

    We also have a bicycle that you can use.

    The 'corona-situation' is very safe here as this is quite a remote and rural place. Moreover, at present Sweden in general has very low infection rates and no immigration/quarantine restrictions are in place (situation in Dec2020)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.5)

Communication: (3.0)







Host ref number: 465442186955