A project to set up a writer's and climbers retreat in the Ariege, France



Favourited 93 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    I have a house in a small village in the Ariege in Southern France. I am Englishman living 45 minutes south of Toulouse and 1 hour north of the mountains. There is a lake near the house and woods and rivers all around. The Ariege is a very beautiful natural place to spend time. I am easy to get along with. you will get your own room and use of a bike and I will introduce you to the life around the area - which depending on the time of year can be buzzing or sleepy. If you like skiing then we are only an hour away from the slopes. I want to turn the house into a writers retreat - but it's still a way off yet. I'm looking for one or two volunteers to spend a couple of hours a day helping in the garden, some interior DIY stuff and painting. The rest of your time is your own. It will be generally chilled - shared cooking etc. Please get in contact to find out more.

    If you like climbing even better.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You get to spend some time in the south of france. I am near Toulouse and the Pyrenees. If you like walking or canoeing or just quiet nature then this is the place. There are lots of musicians around the area. A quiet place with a restaurant/bar. God for reflection and writing and thinking.

  • Help


    I need some help to speed up the garden work. It will be building, gardening work generally with some decorating. I will expect about 4 or 5 hours help per day. Not too much.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is new to me - it would be useful for you to add some experiences that you have had - and skills you possess. Look forward to hearing from you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 462316681167