Come help us and enjoy the sites in the north-west part of Anatolia, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm which we started to establish in 2014 in Edremit Bay is 2 km to the Aegean sea and 5 km to Canakkale-Izmir highway in the north-west part of Anatolia/Turkey. Many historical places like Troia and Ephesus are in the 2hr distance. Mount Ida is very close with hundreds of waterfalls and many more hiking routes.
    Approximately 15 acres of consists of olive groves. Total area of the farm is around 35 acres. There are 2 storey farmhouse in which the upper part is used as guesthouse. There are milking facility, barn (two horses), poultry house and farmhouse where we grow vegetables for farm consumption. Olive oil, milk and dairy products and natural eggs are our main products at the moment.
    We like to have people to share our life here and welcome people who want to join in this simple farm life.
    Permanently I and two workers live in the farm but we have a lot of visitors.

    We need help in the farm for cleaning of the farm house, clearing of fields, gardening, olive collecting, horse care, milking etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy sharing our way of life with visitors who are looking to live a similar life in the future and sharing whatever lessons might be useful to them or for us. You have a chance to learn more about the general care of the horses, cows and chickens.
    Learn to milk.
    Experience daily life and nature on an Turkish farm.
    Language practice.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteer help may consist, handling and caring of horses, helping feeding the animals, helping with milking, chicken care, clearing olive groves, olive collecting (mainly in October and November) and general farm help. We have lots of visitors and so usually we cook and eat together
    It's not all work. Volunteers may have opportunities to visit beautiful coasts and to nearby rivers and waterfalls to cool off on a hot day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have sharing and single bedrooms with shared living rooms, WC-shower and kitchen. We offer mattresses and pillows, please bring a sleeping bag.

    We have internet access and not limited. We have pets. We don't smoke and all of our rooms are non-smoking. But, guests can smoke at the outside of the buildings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ayvalik is a lovely seaside town with lots to see and do around the area, from swimming/hiking/cycling/diving. There are eight different thermal tourism centers in the province. The region is also very well known for the ancient historical places like Troia and Ephesus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 461177432184