Come and help on a smallholding and learn about Swedish life in Luleå, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    76

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My girlfriend and I live on a small holding with a couple of horses and some dogs, a cat and whatever wildlife happens to roam in for a nibble. We both have full time jobs and are struggling with upkeep of the property which is in need of some tlc. We live 20km upriver from Luleå and a regular bus service from the hospital is about 3.5km from the farm. A bicycle or a lovely walk thru the hamlet on the other side of the railway line takes you to the hospital and bus terminus. We dont really have neighbours but there are two properties with houses a few hundred meters away. It is very quiet on the property and sometimes you will hear a train go past, but other than that, its a quiet spot to be.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will have the opportunity to learn Swedish and eat traditional Swedish food.
    Should time and weather co-operate, the opportunity to do things like paddle in the river from time to time or going for walks in the forests or on forestry roads and tracks is a definate must.
    The Polar Circle is a couple of hours away by car. Wildlife roaming onto the property includes fox, deer, elk and there are even a few bears in the forests in the vacinity.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the summers with general maintenance of the buildings, the gardens and whatever projects we have on the go.
    We plan on having goats and chickens in the near future so will need help with building up the requirements for these projects.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Swedish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a traditional kitchen couch cum bed in the piano room which is really comfy. Whichever room not let out to paying guests, will be available to longer term workaway’ers.
    All meals will be included, and feel free to show us your awesome cooking skills. My girlfriend Hanna loves cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be spent hiking, canoeing, walking, bushcrafting or just chilling. There is a possibility of horse riding too. We have a piano for those who enjoy a tinkle on the keys. How workawayers wish to spend their free time is up to their energy levels.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If they have a Campervan or caravan that they live in

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 459929673415