Last minute

Help our family with childminding in Melbourne, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 134 times
  • Last activity: 24 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    We are a family of three - Mum and two daughters aged 5 and 8. We are looking to share our home in exchange for babysitting, cooking, light cleaning, and basic gardening. Working full time, with school aged children the childminding and help is mainly before and after school hours.

    The type of tasks includes the morning prep for school, making lunch boxes, walking to school or home from school, daily vacuuming and dishes, feeding the cat and dog and preparing dinner. The kids really enjoy having someone to play with and be silly. So far this has included cooking, dancing, yoga, playing games. They also really like to learn about you and where you are from.

    As a traveler in my younger days (and a nanny in the USA) I would like to give back on my experience I had and welcome you to our home. We live in a beautiful area surrounded my Australian fauna and flora yet are accessible to the Melbourne CBD. Living with a family offers a cultural experience for us and yourself that passing through a city cannot.

    You need to be able to stay minimum of a month and longer than that is also preferred.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Situated in Warrandyte you will live among Australia's wildlife including kangaroos, Kookaburra's, bushland, and the beautiful river, yet still be close to get into the city very easily (24km). The area is full of walking tracks and swimming holes.

    Culturally we welcome you into our house to share who we are and how we live including food, sports, hobbies, and activities.

    We will share with you locally what the area has to offer. I try to culture my children through activities and events in Melbourne and welcome you to be a part of that (expo's, markets and events) if you choose.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    No qualifications necessary just a responsible, friendly and caring attitude to share with our family and help where needed.

    Help required is majority babysitting two children before and after school.
    Additional help includes light house cleaning or raking leaves to assist with our day-to-day house keep.
    On occasion there maybe pet sitting of the dog and cat which includes feeding them while we are away.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own fully furnished room and full access to the house and amenities including Wi-Fi, kitchen and laundry. There are two living areas both with TVs to utilize.

    Walking distance to public transport with easy access into Melbourne CBD (40-50mins on bus). Walking distance to shops and the river.

    Standard meal food is provided (as a family) however you can purchase your own food and beverages at your own preference.

    The house is non-smoking and no drugs.

    We have a dog and a cat.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 457482692478

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Experience life on a farm in the beautiful Northern Rivers NSW
Volunteer help orphaned or injured kangaroos and many birds in Australia´s Northern Territory