Help out on a smallholding in West Suffolk, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Brian and Lorna we live on a smallholding in Lackford near Bury Sy Edmunds since February 2010 and enjoy all that rural life has to offer. Our place is run sustainably (solar heating, rainwater harvesting and coppicing to supply firewood) with 7 acres. We enjoy growing our own vegetables and raising our own meat, sheep, pigs, chicken, and ducks depending on the time of year. We also enjoy good food, music (listening and playing) and lots of other creative activities (painting, printmaking, and various fabric work) which we are happy to share with you. Our family is reasonably local so you may get the chance to meet one of our eight grandchildren while you are with us.
    We are keen to build links with the local community and we both volunteer each week to support our local Wildlife Trust and Fullers Mill our local Perennial garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We aim to live by making and doing, self reliance in community with others living locally. We genuinely try to combine living creatively without a huge impact on the environment. We have a life time of experience to share and think we are open minded enough to learn from others. All are welcome.

  • Help

    Help

    Our main focus at the moment is maintaining the garden, small animal care and developing an orchard. In addition we are developing various parts of the property (a workspace and gallery in a barn) there is always lots of preserving to be done in the summer and autumn. Wood collection and cutting and general food preparation and household tasks are always on the list. We often work with neighbours to help out with their projects too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bedroom with en suite bathroom with the shared use of the rest of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live as a family and would appreciate visitors helping with and clearing up communal meals, this is an activity outside of 'working time'. We are a non smoking household and welcome non smokers.

    This is an isolated rural setting and unfortunately no car is available for visitors to use. There are hourly buses to Bury St Edmunds. We offer a pick up and lift back to the railway station. Visitors can enjoy walking and exploring the Lackford Lakes nature reserve which has 400 acre of Breckland, wetlands and the Kings Forest, ideal for bike riding, which adjoins our paddocks

    Just 5 miles away is Bury St Edmunds an ancient and historic centre of Suffolk, Cambridge and Newmarket are also nearby.

    The immediate area around us is unspoilt and has never been used for large scale agricultural production.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Good access and electrical connection.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Volunteer during the mornings 5 days a week max 25 hours a week











Host ref number: 456942859262