Join our family and help us with fruit trees near Victoria, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three (12 year old daughter). We live on a small, 2 acre farm with an apple/cherry/peach/fig orchard, ducks, chickens and an ocean view. It is in a quiet part of Vancouver Island, but only a 45 minute drive to Victoria. Lots of beautiful hiking trails, including one starting just 100 metres from our house that leads you to waterfalls and the ocean. We also have two loving cats and a small dog.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about orchard management, vegetable gardening and planning, we speak English (plus some French and Spanish). Get to live on a beautiful property close to the ocean and trails.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    General fruit tree and vegetable garden work. Always happy to train people that are keen to prune fruit trees, or start their own vegetable patch from scratch. Also some caring for ducks and chickens.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Happy to help teach English to French or Spanish speakers.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    RV - Camper. It has a double bed, plus a small fridge, sink, bathroom and table that converts to another bed if needed. Max of two people. People also have access to our house (to use the bathroom, meals, playing games, etc.). We share dinners (preparing and eating). Breakfast and lunch can be prepared in the camper or our house by guests for themselves only. They can eat as much locally produced eggs, produce, fruit, etc. that they want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Good hiking and local swimming spots. Beautiful rivers, lakes and walking distance to the ocean.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have had Workaways that work online while they stay with us. We have a Wifi booster which reaches to the Camper, plus they are welcome to work in our house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We had a family stay in their Campervan. We supplied an electrical hookup, and they had lots of space.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 718383711855