Stay on our farm and help us with our holiday lets near Frome in Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 972 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    951

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living on a farm in a gorgeous village called Mells in Somerset. Husband is Jonathan. He is a software developer. Wife is Daisy. She is a freelance journalist. We run a successful holiday let business at the property.
    We also have two dogs and a cat so those applying must be animal lovers!

    We are looking for someone to help us with our holiday let business, with the garden and also with some change overs and guest check ins. We have a team of housekeepers who work for us so your (paid) role would be as an extra pair of hands, often helping to make sure we are keeping on top of the laundry. Your role would also involve helping with any guest queries, so some experience of working in hospitality would be useful.

    We have several unique spaces that we rent out to guests - including a cottage, a tree-house and two converted horse-boxes. We also have two lotus bell tents an two caravans. Mells is a quintessentially English village and there are plenty of interesting things to see in the surrounding areas. Frome is the nearest town and has lots of funky vintage shops to explore. Bath is half an hour away - it it has every shop you can think of and is also one of the most beautiful cities in the world. We also have a flat in Chelsea in London, so we offer all our workaways the chance to stay there too, and see some of the sights of London.

    We have just found a lovely new workaway who will be staying with us for the next couple of months - so looking for someone who would be available to start with us in Spring 2022.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers would learn about rural life in Somerset, tourism and the local area which is an area of outstanding natural beauty with amazing attractions nearby including Longleat safari park, Glastonbury Tor and Stonehenge.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We have created some unique properties for tourists coming to stay at our property, including a tree-house and two converted horse-boxes. We need help with guest check ins and some companionship for my elderly father in the evenings.

    As well as free accommodation we also offer payment in exchange for your help, so you will be able to earn some money for your travels during your stay. We pay £9 an hour, which is more than the minimum wage.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be staying in a large double bedroom, within the farmhouse with a shared bathroom next door.

    You'll have free use of the kitchen too, if you want to cook something for yourselves. We love hosting meals for our workaways too.

    We have decent wireless internet and you're welcome to make use of this - video calling over Skype or Zoom is possible, and if you need to work from home, that's also possible - you will have sufficient free time during the day to do this.

    The farm house is in a very beautiful location surrounded by gorgeous gardens which you are welcome to make use of in your free time.

    We also have a flat in Chelsea which you would be welcome to make use of during your stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We'll help out with local transport as much as possible. We are happy to collect you from the station if you don't have a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space for someone who has a campervan and would rather stay in that than in our house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Up to 4 hours a day, five days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)





















Host ref number: 456128326253