Cultural exchange and help with chores for a homestay in Jakarta, Indonesia

Country

Indonesia

Favourited 118 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/11/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a separate house, but there are a lot of guests in the house where you will live in.

    I am a writer/story-teller, student, etc. I have been to most of Asean countries, Australia, Saudi Arabia, Greece, China, and plan to travel to Japan.

    I need help in cleaning up my other house, the one you will live in.
    The house has 9 + 1 bedrooms and 9+1 bathrooms. 8 of the rooms are occupied and you do not need to worry about them. 1 will usually have guests stays and I need your help to clean the room and change the linen.

    Your room will be very small but alright. The house is located in a local neighborhood, a mix of native Jakartans and workers from other parts of Indonesia, and located in the heart of Jakarta just behind Cikini Post Office.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will meet a lot of locals from various places in Indonesia. The 'Bale' (Native-Jakartan concept of living room) is where most of the people gather in the morning and in the night.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help needed are:

    Someone who can help clean up the pantry, the living room, and keep his/her own bedroom and bathroom sparklingly clean.

    I go to school everyday, do research and write a lot, and that's why I need this help.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent
    Malay: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A single bed, own bathroom, linen is also provided along with the necessities of soap and shampoo, etc.
    Books on Indonesian tourism and Jakarta survival guide is also available for you to read.
    There is supposedly a vegetable garden on the rooftop, you are welcome to take the vegetable from there if you can find one that you like.
    If you need help with planning your trip in Indonesia, I can also help you if we meet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You should arrive in Jakarta in the morning so that you can have better orientation to city and can use public transportation from the airport. Take Damri bus (IDR40,000) to GAMBIR bus terminal and walk to the location.

    Jakarta is a metropolitan city with a lot of history and it is a great city for shopping (or start a business in trading, if you are interested).

    Due to type of help needed, you are expected to stay at least 14 days. I can not give you any compensation, but your room is free in exchange of cleaning the house.

    Because of the climate in Jakarta: Please bring only cotton clothing for maximum comfort. And please dress modestly. This is a heterogenuous neighborhood with people having values different from one another. Let's learn to respect the local cultures.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day no day off



Host ref number: 455112427174