Join us in our renovation project of a little house in the lovely town of Limoux, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *** Update: because the government makes it impossible for us to work properly, we are not able to host anyone at the moment ***
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    We are a family of 3. Louise (32 from Denmark), Robert (34 from Austria) and Philip (5 months old). We moved to France last year to get to know the people and the country while doing workaway. This year we bought a little house in the lovely little town of Limoux. We are in the middle of renovating this house, which turned out to be quite a big project, especially whilst having a baby ;) So we are looking for help with the renovations! Our plan is, to get the biggest, noisiest and dustiest things done before winter, so we want to invite about 4-5 helpers to join us in october. There are all kinds of tasks to be done, some require certain skills, others are very simple, some exciting, others boring... Anyway, there's A LOT to do! If you feel like doing some serious renovations that's the place to go. Don't worry, we don't want to overwork you, 5hours a day for 5 days a week in exchange for a nice place to stay, good food and hopefully some fun activities on the days off!

    In short: We welcome everyone who is not afraid of some dirty construction projects and offer a good opportunity to learn, a nice clean room and good meals in exchange!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can gain general building experience, see all kinds of construction issues and how to solve them. We would like to have an easy going atmosphere where everyone can help according to his personal strengths and interests. If you come to learn french, we personally won't be able to help you all that much, because our french is not that good yet. But you will still be in a small city in France, surrounded by french people. And we are very happy to introduce you to the right people for you interests!

    If you happen to learn danish, german or english, we will be very happy to help you, as we speak all those languages frequently at home.

  • Help

    Help

    we have an old town house which needs renovating. There are all kinds of things to be done: scraping off wallpaper, painting, building drywalls, plumbing, sanding, rendering, electricity, repairing the floor, tiling...
    So we are looking for people who either have experience with any of this, or are willing to learn.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will rent a spacious apartment for 4-5 helpers, so we can have a few weeks where we can get a lot of things done.
    There are 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We try to make sure everyone has has enough private space, however, some of you might have to share a room.
    The apartment is fully equipped with good internet connection, TV, washing machine,... There's also a balcony. Cooking duty will be shared amongst all helpers and us.

    Breakfast and lunch will be very casual, we will provide groceries and make simple meals.
    But for dinner, all of us will discuss the coming meals and then we take turns cooking. Meaning: Every helper and host will cook for the whole group sometimes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We want to make sure you enjoy your time off, so we are planning on driving you to all the local sights such as the medieval cité of Carcassonne, the canal du midi, several cathar castles, Toulouse, the local wineries, or to see a local rugby game (as far as Corona restrictions permit :/ )

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    the internet connection is usually fast and stable, if this isn't the case for whatever reason we will find a solution i.e. a mobile hotspot or an alternative network in case you have work to do.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 454849518467