Come and help us with everyday tasks at our finca in La Colonia, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 179 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are settled in La Colonia, a small town with lots of wildlife, rivers, and nice people.
    By we I mean my in-laws, my wife and I. Right now we have no more employees just us and since we already have all the plans to start building we need extra help.


    We want to build a touristic site for travelers from all around. The finca has around 20 acres divided into cattle, plantations, and now we want to build a couple of rustic cabanas close to the river. WE NEED YOU!
    So the most important to us is that you feel good with the trade at all times.

    The help we constantly need includes recycling, feeding animals, cleaning, gardening and farm tasks.

    The experience we offer cannot be explained and our gratitude neither.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our family is a hardworking one, we offer knowledge and training in several areas like:
    Graphic Design
    BIM modeling
    Woodworking
    Farming

    We love Nature and our love for it is our most valuable asset.
    You would benefit from all the fruits, vegetables we harvest, Awesome food, magic scenarios, and we can help you plan your weekends off.

    Also Guapiles is a great place to plan where you wanna go next, is close to lots of the country attractions like beaches, volcanoes, waterfalls, etc
    You must know Guapiles has rainy season almost all year long, so be prepared for lots of rain (water proof shoes, poncho, etc.)

    The community we are based on is a place where you can interact with locals and exchange cultural encounters.

  • Help

    Help

    You can basically help with what you want. There are a many tasks to perform around the finca.
    Harvest
    Clean
    Cook
    Help organize the day and meals
    Plant
    Cut grass
    Help with the construction
    Help with farming
    Offer new ideas or perspectives

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Big tent only for one or two people
    Bed inside family home
    Campsite with electricity and wifi

    Breakfast and lunch are provided. Shared kitchen in which volunteers can cook and store their food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On you time off you can visit Guapiles biggest town around for exploring and shopping.
    Guapiles is a great spot from where you can catch a bus to the beach or mountain and only 1 hour and 30 min from San Jose
    We offer tours to do rafting
    Mountain walk to the Chindama waterfall
    Visit Posas escondidas in Rio Blanco
    Night walks in the forest
    Tons of wildlife and Nature scenery
    (Additional fees apply for tours.)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes we have enough space to welcome animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 454834436752