'Want to be close to Australian wildlife, yet close to the city life? Enjoy Jerrabomberra, Australia with a fun family.'

Country

Australia

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/06/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi fellow travellers!
    We're an experienced host family and have welcomed many people from all over the world into our lives.
    As a fellow 'bohemian', I spent all my 20's travelling the world and absolutely loved my experiences, so am happy I can help others with theirs.
    We live near the capital of Australia (known as the bush capital), as it's surrounded by native flora and fauna. We see kangaroos regularly, even though we live in a built up area. It's just 15-20 minutes drive to the city, and shops are within walking distance.
    If you like to ski or snowboard, the mountains are only 2.5 hours away! If you would like a trip to the bigger smoke, Sydney - we travel there often via train, bus or car and it's on average 3.5 hours travel.
    As now a full-time worker, I'm seeking home help assistance with various activities listed or any you might be interested in, including child care of a 9 year old during the holidays. He's a polite, quiet (yes, hard to believe) little boy who has a sharp mind and wit. His school is walking distance away.
    During the holidays, you'd have access to the car and can plan your days with Master 9. There are amazing sights to see and things to do (e.g. Visit the national parks to get up close to native animals, go on bush walks, hang out at the creek, go on a picnic, visit science centres, space centres, galleries, museums, ride bikes around the lake, climb trees, read books, play games, build stuff, perform science experiments, bake stuff, make stuff, create stuff, let your imagination run wild, etc, etc.)
    We'd love to hear from you!
    PS Master 9 has a few allergies so someone with first aid training or experience is preferred. Online training and practical training on how to use an epi-pen will be provided.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living with an awesome, happy, friendly Australian family getting to experience an easy way of life, surrounded by beautiful nature and Australian wildlife, with everything at your doorstep. Explore our nation's capital and its surrounds, with Sydney/beaches just 3hrs away, and ski slopes/mountains 2.5 hrs away. Assistance with the English language can also be provided.

  • Help

    Help

    Help required with any or all of the following:
    - hanging out with an 9 year old over school holidays (1 week in between terms and most of December/January)
    - before and after school help as required
    - cooking/lunches prep/shopping
    - home maintenance / odd chores
    - cleaning
    - gardening / maintenance (small backyard) & creating a kitchen garden
    - errands
    - some household 'running' ie booking appointments/tracking bills/filing etc
    - organisational home help (Marie Kondo style)
    - assisting with interior paint job

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, 3 toilet, two-storey relatively modern home. We are clean and tidy and eat healthily. We cook every night, usually a balanced plate of protein, vegetables and carbohydrates. We eat sugared snacks less often, but we don't impose our eating habits onto anyone. We welcome vegetarians/vegans or any other dietary choice individuals! We eat gluten free and lactose free but can provide alternatives. We ask for caution if you eat tree nuts or sesame due to allergies, however.
    You will have your own bedroom with built in wardrobes and have your own toilet and occasionally share a bathroom (only when we want a bath). Our home has ducted heating so it's toasty in winter.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off is when you want it, outside school holidays. During school holidays, there is some degree of flexibility too. Evenings and weekends are yours to do as you please however we're happy if you want to tag along with us. We like to visit museums, galleries, science centres, native parks, go on bush walks, play sports outdoors and explore new places.
    There are lots of bike tracks in and around Canberra and there's a (ladies) bike for you to use if you choose! Our car is automatic and shared.
    Our neighbourhood is safe and lovely, people take care of their homes and yards and are generally very friendly.
    Canberra has a great expat network that you could tap into to meet other travellers. They have regular social events and meet-ups if you are interested.
    Please no smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photo taken at Yacht Club near the lake at Canberra.
Baby koala at National Park, close by.
Mother and joey pic taken at local National Park, close by.
Sunset pic taken from our front door
Koala at local National Park, close by
Your room awaits!
Beautiful Jervis Bay - great camping spot reasonably close.

Host ref number: 454312475191