Join our family and spend time in a small off-grid desert homestead in Rio Rancho, NM near Albuquerque, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    453

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help on our small off grid desert homestead. We are a family of 5 (mom, dad and 3 boys) who bought one acre in Rio Rancho, NM near Albuquerque and we're slowly building a house and turning our land into a family farm. Currently on our land we are building garden fences, raised beds and fun areas for our chickens. We use solar power and propane for power and haul water from the local water department. Nothing gets wasted if we can help it, so we are also working on "upcycling" a variety of waste matery into new and useful items.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Albuquerque and Santa Fe are both close and both have many historical and cultural places to visit. Additionaly we are just 15 minutes from Petroglyph National Monument.

    As a family we have traveled and lived in many different areas of the US, as well as Morocco. Khalil speaks Arabic, French, Spanish and Russian, as well English. The rest of us (wife and 3 sons) are familiar, but not fluent in Arabic, French and Spanish.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to help with:
    - fencing garden plots
    - desert landscaping
    - rain water collection projects
    - chicken projects (shade areas and nesting boxes)
    - remodeling projects for the house we are building
    - general garden and chicken care

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French, Arabic, Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping - we'll provide you with a tent and bedding, as well as a table, fire pit, and basic cooking materials. You will have access to your own composting toilet, and are welcome to access our shower. You are welcome to join us nightly for dinner, as well as lunch when we are in the property. We bake fresh sourdough bread regularly and you are welcome to your share of that as well.

    RV Hookup - If you have your own RV, we will provide a water tank and sewer hookup. We can give you access to a solar panel/battery for some power, as well as a generator ad needed. You are welcome (but not required) to join us nightly for dinner, as well as lunch when we are in the property. We bake fresh sourdough bread regularly and you are welcome to your share of that as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have no neighbors, but plenty of mountain views during the day and wide open star filled skies at night. Even though you will feel you are in the middle of nowhere we are just 10 minutes by car to a main commercial area, public pool (in the summer) and the main connection road to Albuquerque.

    There is no public transportation, so having your own car is recommended. However, we are willing to pick you up from the bus or train station and bring you to the farm. We are also happy to do some sight seeing transportation for you, as long as you are considerate of the demands that having a family with 3 kids requires of us transportation wise.

    Families with children are very welcome. Our sons are 14, 10 and 7 and always love meeting kids from different places. Well behaved dogs are welcome as long as they can get along with our 2 farm dogs (both part hound) and the chickens.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 453137162929