Help out in old Vermont Farmhouse build in 1840, in the gardens, rebuilding the corn crib and other odd jobs, USA

Country

United States

updated   Last minute

Favourited 474 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1304

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is an old Vermont Farmhouse build in 1840. It is located in central Vermont on 130 acres of fields, forest and pasture. It has been in the family since the town was founded. There are beautiful views from every room in the house as well a trails for walking. A short walk down to the brook reveals a beautiful waterfall.

    The buildings on the property consists of the old 13 room farmhouse, a chicken coop, corn crib and a 4 story bank barn. The house is decorated with a sense of longevity. You walk into the kitchen facing the old cast iron cook stove. There are clawfoot tubs in the two shared bathrooms. The rooms are decorated to make you feel like you have stepped back in time.

    Besides running the bed and breakfast, I also make and sell pies and quiches at local farmer's markets. Walk into the kitchen and you may find the table filled with pie crust, the side table with fillings and the old cook stove covered with pies and quiches emitting delicious smells as they cool.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I grew up in Vermont and live on the old family farm. It can feel like stepping back in time where you learn the rhythms of nature, noticing when the sun rises and sets, listening to birds, frogs and insects. Watch thunder storms come across the field while sitting on the porch in the summer. Walk through crunchy, colorful leaves in the fall. Feel the thunder of snow sliding off the barn roof in the winter.

    I have also lived in Boston, San Jose, Ca., Miami and Costa Rica. I have traveled to Europe, Canada, Panama and Mexico. My native language is English but I also speak Spanish.

    I would love to learn more about your travel experiences, where you grew up, foods and customs. I have taught English as a Second language but found that the easiest way and the most effective way to learn a second language is to live where only that new language is spoken.

    Whichever language you speak, I would love to learn a little as well. Please teach me about your customs, about the places you have traveled and your perspectives on life.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    What would you like to do around the house and farm? I have perennial gardens in need of complete overhaul. There are windows in the barn that need new panes. The chicken coop needs scraping and painting.

    If you know about plumbing and or electricity there are several jobs that need to be done including moving a clawfoot tub to the future bathroom in the corn crib and replacing it with a walk-in shower in the house.

    Are you an artist? Would you like to make signs? How about a new brochure, or improve my webpage? Would you like to create fairy houses on the path to the waterfall?

    Do you know how to maintain trails? The path to the waterfall could be extended. How about creating a bench from fallen logs for people to sit on to enjoy the peaceful sounds of nature?

    Do you like to garden? I am looking for someone to plant and maintain the garden throughout the summer... April to mid-October.

    Come pick fiddleheads in May, pick black raspberries in June, pack dilly beans in July or harvest cucumbers in August.

    Do you know how to build an outhouse or an outdoor shower? Would you like to help create a glamping site?

    Have you experienced the fun of a riding mower. turned a compost pile, collected chicken eggs, dug ditches, or made Strawberry Rhubarb Pie?

    Have you ever sold at farmers markets? Would you like to learn? Selling at farmers markets can be a paid job but it requires a commitment of several months stay, generally mid-May to mid-October. It is the only position that pays. It involves a commitment of at least Mid-May to Mid-October, a valid driver's licence (US or International) and car, excellent command of the English Language, ability to lift cases of pickles, happy, outgoing personality and the ability to sell.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodations can vary with the number or guests and Workawayers who are staying here. In any case, you will be given either a twin or full sized bed, either in the house or in the barn. There are plenty of blankets, pillows, Wifi and electricity if you find yourself in the barn.

    There is free WIFI throughout the house, barn and corn crib. There are two shared bathrooms for the house. Each room has a bureau, side tables, lamps, bedding, and windows with incredible views of fields, forests and mountains.

    Occasionally there will be so many guests that we become creative with sleeping arrangements but there are always real beds available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearby you will find lots of fairs and festivals, farmer's markets, antique shops, and cheese tasting.

    The Long Trail, running from Massachusetts to Canada, runs across the tops of the Green Mountains and crosses the Appalachian Trail. There is a raptor center nearby. While hiking you might see Red Tailed Hawks, moose, chipmunks or Leopard Frogs.

    There is good fishing in the nearby White River or on hot days you might like to go tubing down that same river where sometimes you can see beavers, King Fishers or occasionally river otters.

    Just a couple of miles down the road are a couple of nice restaurants. Sample some of Vermont's finest micro brewery beers with a grass-fed beef burger and locally grown, organic vegetables at Worthy Burger or sit down to a surf and turf platter at 5 Olde Tavern.

    Montpelier, Vermont's capital, is just 40 miles away. Woodstock, Vt. and Hanover, NH are about the same distance. There you will find nice restaurants, streets for shopping, and museums for learning about the history of the area.

    Burlington, Vt is just over an hour away with a bustling downtown and waterfront. There you will find street musicians, shopping and ferries that cross Lake Champlain over to Plattsburg, NY. They also have cruises to search for Champy, Vermont's version of the Loch Ness Monster.

    Montreal and Boston are about 3 hours away, while NYC is about 5 hours away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (3.3)
























Host ref number: 452898764428