Apple trees, green pastures, peaceful surroundings, come explore the true heart of Normandy with us. France

Country

France

Favourited 146 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Bonjour!

    We are a family of 11 including 3 humans:
    Gael (dad) who is French and speaks fluent English,
    Sophie (mum) who is half English and speaks French English and Spanish,
    Agathe (daughter, 6) who speaks to whoever will listen,
    2 dogs:
    - Jarod (King Charles, 9) who barks in French,
    - Hopi (Chihuahua, 7) who has her own language,
    - Artemis (Cat, 1), who could provide food for the whole family if we were into birds and mice
    - And 5 chickens!

    We have been living in this amazing place for 4 years now. It is located in the very heart of Bocage Normand, and we are surrounded by fields and orchards. The buildings were built between the 17th and 19th centuries and have been completely refurbished. The local area is protected, which means fresh air, no noisy neighbours and no heavy agriculture around.

    The nearest large town is Lisieux (10mn away by car and 1h50 away by train from Paris St Lazare), we are 2hrs away from Paris by car, 30/45mn away from the nearest airports (Caen and Deauville) and the famous Normandy beaches, and 2km away from the village centre.

    The space for workawayers is a 17th century timbered Norman manor, totally independent from our house, with bedrooms, living room, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom.

    The property includes over 40 fruit trees (mainly apples, but also pears, prunes, peaches, walnuts), a vegetable garden (using permaculture technique), a little river and green pastures.

    If you enjoy being outdoor most of the time, are not afraid of getting your hands (and clothes) dirty, are independent yet friendly, like sharing food (and cooking some), really love animals (domesticated or not) and have a sense of humour, then we would be delighted to have you around!

    Sophie teaches yoga, which means you will have access to the studio (fully equipped) and may enjoy one of her classes :), and Gael has a wood workshop which means you will be able to help him build stuff if this is something you might enjoy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We both speak fluent English and French, have traveled extensively, and have lived abroad. We are happy to share our experiences and love of France in general and Normandy in particular with people from all over the planet.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with (woodcutting and stocking) , trees (trimming and care), gardening (cleaning, planting, harvesting), cleaning up the surroundings (stream), doing maintenance work (painting, sanding, varnishing), caring for the animals, and any project we might be working on upon your arrival.

    We offer independent accommodation, fully equipped and stocked kitchen (you will have to help us shop and cook some of your meals), access to the yoga studio and/or to a weekly class, in exchange for 5 hours per day, 5 days per week.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The space for workawayers is a 17th century timbered Norman manor, totally independent from our house, with double bedrooms, living room, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and toilets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have two bicycles for exploring the hills around or you can go hike on one of the many picturesque roads that surround the property. We can lend our car (automatic) if you are a responsible driver.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 452547552131