Help with the build of a sustainable straw-house with family in the pre-pyrenees, Catalonia, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 133 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with three children (8, 10 and 13 years old) who lives in Borredà, a small town in the pre-pyrenees. We have been building our own straw-house for almost two years. Now we live in the house, but is not already finished at all.
    The house is made of wood-structure and straw as a walls. All is plasted with mud (clay, sand, straw and lime). We used sustainable materials as much as we can. The electricity comes from solar panels, and the days without sun the stove heat us with wood.

    We are also interested in language and culture exchange for us and for our children.
    We are bilingual, so we speak Catalan and Spanish. Anyway our English is good enough.
    We have a cat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our experience could be very helpful because we are building our own sustainable house without previous experience. In addition we are building rather low-cost but on legal-way. And you could try to sleep in a very-comfortable-straw house!
    You could learn how we are making this project and practice deferents kinds of sustainable building-works.
    .

  • Help

    Help

    We are asking for help in building (with limestone, stones, wood,...) and gardening tasks.
    Also we and our children, want to improve our English or Spanish skills.
    Normally we'll work 5 days a week, about 5 hours a day. Usually we will agree the working hours when you arrive.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is bedroom usually shared with other volunteers. The bathroom is shared with us.
    We eat all kinds of food, mostly ecological. Vegetarians or special diets aren't any problem as long as you let us know. We'll eat together and we ask for share the basic houseworking and cooking. We don't tolerate machismo so we share all the tasks regardless gender (couples, please adapt you to these rule).
    Usually, after a week we use to have a talk so we all have feedback about how we feel with the exchange.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our little town is in the middle of the mountain and we could show you wonderful hikes and also there is a river close to the house that is amazing for taking a bath

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 451223745235