Helpers wanted for refurbishing our house in Hamburg, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Stephan. My wife and me, we are living and working in Hamburg. Last year we fell in love with an old house on the beautiful Island of Rügen. It is situated near a little harbour and near an old train stop, and in summer many people come here for holidays.

    This house needs refurbishing. It was built about 150 years ago and changed and rebuilt several times during the years. Our dream is to bring back it's former appearance, but with modern and ecological features. Unfortunately, we do not have any experience with old houses but nevertheless want to achieve our plans. We need help!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to show your capabilities in re-constructing a house. After one working-day there'll be a day off. You may go fishing or swimming in the sea, explore the island, go by bus or train to the impressive Museum of Oceans nearby, visit the famous theatre of Putbus or the ecological reservation of south-east Rügen. If you want to, you can learn German or improve your German language skills. In case you come as a family your children are welcome!

  • Help

    Help

    In fact, people of any age are welcome who would like to help rebuilding the old house and make it beautiful again. Welcome to all who have experience as ... architect - or study architecture, who are landscape gardener or digging operator, brick-layer or floorer, timberman or carpenter, installer for heating systems ... or any other job that could help our old house to become beautiful again.

    Although we live in Hamburg, I come to Rügen from time to time in order to work on our house for a few days. During these days I would love to learn from people who have some experience in refurbishing old houses.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French - understand some Spanish, Catalogne, Italian, Netherlands

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in one of the appartements of the upper floor of the house which are already in a perfect condition. You will have your own kitchen, bathroom with shower, TV, WLAN and anything you need. Some peanuts of pocket money will be donated. In the evenings you are invited to improve your knowledge of German language or history or brewing culture - or go out with me - or just do what you want. In case a car is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's public services by cars and trains to Bergen (15 min.), to Stralsund (45 min.) and Hamburg or Berlin (3 hours each).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max. 4-5 hours a day, max. 4-5 days a week

Host ref number: 449547526565