Help for a homeschooling family, living on a beautiful piece of land, close to Galway City, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 494 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children: two boys aged 8, and 5 and a half years old, and a new baby girl born in June 2018. We have one dog, one cats and one guinea pig. We live on a beautiful piece of land about 25 minutes drive from Galway City and just on the doorstep of the gateway to Connemara, which is a very popular destination for anyone wanting to see the beauty of Ireland. We homeschool our children, following the unschooling method in particular. Our daily routine consists of all the normal domestic chores around meals, feeding the animals, doing the shopping and also lots of adventure, play and fun. Currently we are building our house, which is an old Irish cottage being renovated.
    There are woods, mountains and beautiful gardens all in close proximity to us and we try to get out as often as we can. Less than 5 minutes walk from our home is a regular bus service, which goes directly to Galway city and also in the opposite direction out to Connemara. We cook food from fresh every day and are vegetarian.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At the moment you could learn lots about building your own home. If you are interested in education/ homeschooling/ unschooling then you could learn from us about our way of schooling the children. Also English is our first language so if you would like to learn more English we could be a great help with that. We do require that you have a enough English to be able to communicate and understand everyday conversation. Due to the location of our home you could get a great experience of the Irish countryside and visit some of the most scenic areas of the country as well as getting to enjoy the culture of Galway City easily. We are an open minded family who know about this area, what's on and what's to see and do.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we need help with our building project. Barry is a carpenter and joiner by trade and our new family home is a self build. Barry is working on the project full time until completion sometime this summer. If you would like to learn the skills of timber framing, insulating, air tightness, dry walling, plumbing and heating, etc, etc, basically complete home fit out, then this is for you.
    Direction and guidance will be given and we need someone up for laboring. We need people who are prepared to pay attention to detail and complete tasks to the very best of their ability. This is a wonderful opportunity to learn skills and methods of building your own home.

    Also, If you are someone who loves playing with children, hanging out in a family environment and working outdoors then we would love your help here. We need help with the general daily domestic chores, feeding the animals, but particularly we need someone who loves the company of children. We feel our children learn a lot from good quality contact with others. You will not be expected to look after the children alone, there will be a parent around also. The outdoor work is mostly light gardening work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently we are in the process of renovating an old building as a home, so we live temporarily in a mobile home. Accommodation for workawayers is in a separate cosy caravan, with a solid fuel stove. You will have your own living area, bed, toilet and full kitchen. The toilet is outside the caravan in a separate covered deck area and it is a compost toilet. Currently there is no running hot water in the caravan, and although there is a camping shower, which can be filled with hot water, and a shower room, this may not be for everyone. We are more than happy for you to shower in our home where there is all the hot water you will need!! The caravan has internet, via an ethernet cable which can be plugged into your computer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Galway is a thriving cultural City. It has a number of highly respected language schools, which host people from all over the world. There are many things to see and do, classes to attend, really whatever you are interested in exploring you will find it. Also for anyone wishing to explore the beauty of Ireland, then Connemara is a must. There are a range of hostels in various locations, surrounded by stunning scenery and lots of activities. Daily tours go from Galway to Connemara, the Cliffs of Moher and the Aaran Islands, which are all parts of Ireland that are a 'must see'.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)






















Host ref number: 448822434357