Help finish a house renovation in Languedoc Roussillon,France



Favourited 107 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    We are a Belgian couple, Herwig and Greet, with 2 children, Luna (14 years) and Stiene (12 years), living in a magical part of the south of France: ‘les corbières’ in a small village without amenities 30 minutes from Narbonne and the coast.
    Twelve years ago we left Belgium to start a few lovely, but time-consuming projects.

    I am a physiotherapist in a village nearby. I love sport, in particular tennis and running and I love to cook. Herwig works for 6 months a year as a skipper on a tourist boat on the ‘canal du midi’, and is a very keen sailor. The other 6 months are spent looking after 100 olive trees and continuing the renovations of an old shepherd's house (Bergerie) plus our own house, which was originally a wine cellar.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Help


    With his parents, Herwig, has started to renovate a ruin, the old shepherds house which is both very remote and independent of mains electricity and water. The old house sits on 5 hectares of land which we have planted with olive trees in the aim to produce our own olive oil.
    As a family we lived in the old shepherds house for several years, but for the last three years we have been living and renovating our own house in the neighbouring village. Both properties are close to be done, with just the finishing touches to complete.

    We are looking for people, both skilled and unskilled, who would be interested in helping us finish renovating the two houses. We need help with plastering, plaster boarding, painting, building dry stone walls and gardening.

    For a good contact with the girls it would be desirable to speak a little bit of dutch or French.

    So if you feel like spending some time with our family, please let us know!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We speak Flemish, French and English.

  • Accommodation


    You will live in our house and shear the meals with us as a family.
    You will have your own bedroom and share the bathrooms.
    We'd love to visit interesting things with you and to introduce you to our friends of all different nationalities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are living in a small village without shops or a bar but a short drive to the closest town.
    Please note that if you are without transport this is a rural area there are no shops or restaurants in the village.

    A good contact with the girls is important. They speek Flemish and French and are willing to learn a little bit of English.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours max

Host ref number: 447242649184