Language learning adventure in Calatafimi Segesta, Sicily, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ABOUT ME
    I'm Mallory, a 33 year-old from the United States living in Sicily. I came here to change my life and focus on language and community. Before moving here, I worked as a multilingual flight attendant, and now I'm a language teacher and translator. I'm an animal-lover and try to follow a vegan diet as much as possible. Outdoor activities of any kind are my preferred pastimes. I love going for hikes, walking my dogs, gardening, going to the beach...

    DOGS & CATS!
    If you have any fears, allergies, or a dislike of dogs or cats, this is probably not the place for you. There are 6 dogs and 3 cats at the house. They're all lovely and perfect <3

    PROJECT
    After living in Sicily for some time, I came up with the idea of SOLE (School Of Linguistic Experience) Languages. The goal is to create a community space for language learning and expression that is inclusive, innovative, and encouraging.

    I'm convinced that the most meaningful language learning happens outside of the classroom, and the pandemic has forced me to drastically reconsider how I plan to continue with my school. So I've moved out of town to a house in the countryside near the Angimbè Forest where I can create an outdoor classroom that allows for safe, meaningful learning.

    Now I'd like to create a Language Farm, based on the concept of Care Farming, using gardening and animal care as a tool to promote healing. It will be a place where members of the community and tourists alike will be able to come and participate in lessons and workshops focused on experiential learning in subjects such as Mediterranean gardening and protecting Sicily's wildlife.

    I'm also very concerned with the stray dog and cat situation here in Sicily. I've been volunteering and collaborating with a local shelter for years, and I'd like to work toward the PREVENTION of increased stray populations through a massive sterilization project.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Linguistic exchange: I speak English (native), Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, and Italian. I'm happy to help you with any of these languages, and I'd be happy to learn about any languages you speak.

    Sicily is a beautiful island with a lot to explore and a rich and diverse culture to experience. In your free time, you're welcome to explore and experience as much as you like. Calatafimi Segesta is

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for hard-working, creative, and enthusiastic volunteers with skills in language and content creation to help me brainstorm and develop learning workshops and then help market them through social media.

    Yardwork/ Gardening
    I've just moved to this house that hasn't been inhabited for years, so this will be quite a broad task in the beginning. You'll need to help prune some trees, clear some overgrown plants, and overall, help make the garden beautiful.

    General Housekeeping
    I ONLY expect you to help 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Cleanliness and general housekeeping will NOT be considered part of your 'work' but rather part of your respectful and sanitary co-habitation with another person. I'm happy to live with someone and provide accommodation, but it is essential that you do your fair share in keeping the environment clean. So, if you make a mess, clean it up. This applies to tools you use for a project, dishes in the kitchen, etc. If you take something from its storage place or make any type of mess, please return everything to how you found it.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm a forever language-learner and would love to learn more about your language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This house is in the countryside near the Angimbè Forest, just outside of the town of Calatafimi Segesta. You will have your own bedroom. We will share a fully-equipped bathroom, kitchen, and all other living spaces. The house is surrounded by a lovely garden where you can relax outside and enjoy nature.

    We will share meals; I love to cook and try others' cooking.

    You will easily be able to walk into town for all your needs, or you can tag long with me when I go into town for shopping. You can decide how much or how little time you'd like to spend with me.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm located in the town of Calatafimi Segesta which is in the Trapani Province, the western-most province in Sicily. I take my dogs to the nearby Angimbè Forest everyday, which is a magical place for me. I love being outdoors and exploring the treasures nature has to offer. If you want to hang out, I'm happy to explore the natural surroundings nearby with you. If you want to explore on your own, by all means! Here are some things you can do:

    Walking
    ● Angimbè Forest
    ● Pispisa Mountain
    ● Segesta Hot Springs

    Closest Historical sites
    ● Visit the Eufemio Castle ruins in town (you can walk there!)
    ● The Segesta archaeological park is a quick 10 minute drive away. With proper planning, I can easily drop you
    off and pick you up.

    Beaches
    ● Castellammare del Golfo is the closest beach to Calatafimi (take a bus in the summer; during the rest of the year, we can try and go together)
    ● Guidaloca (own transportation)
    ● Zingaro Nature Reserve (this is a lovely combo of nature AND beach, but you need your own transportation)
    ● San Vito Lo Capo (own transportation)

    Cities
    ● Palermo- a bustling metropolis, capital of Sicily, full of culture, history, and life (bus)
    ● Trapani- capital of our province, port city. From here you can (bus)
    ○ Travel to the Egadi Islands: Favignana, Marettimo, and Levanzo (take a bus to Trapani, then a boat to the
    islands in the summer)
    ○ Visit Erice- a medieval city that overlooks the port town (take a bus to Trapani then the cable car to Erice)
    ● Marsala- a beautiful coastal city with a strong Arab influence (own transportation)
    ● Mazara del Vallo- another beautiful coastal city with a strong Arab influence (own transportation)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is wifi at the house. I work online and can easily accommodate other digital nomads.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's plenty of space to park a campervan or motorhome, and you can use the bathroom in the house. I have no place to dump the toilet tank from the campervan, however.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 446349585831