Help with our Permaculture/ Regenerative Agriculture farm and enjoy real food in New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    234

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a 140 acre Permaculture / Regenerative Agriculture farm.

    Our farm is in the heart of the Manning Valley on the Mid-North Coast of NSW, It's 10 minutes from the town of Wingham on the Manning River, only 20 minutes from Taree and a bit over half an hour from the beach at Old Bar.

    We're currently running cattle, a small number of chickens, a milking cow, some old breed pigs for breeding and three very happy dogs. Developing and improving the farm is our full time work along with selling our produce and our pasture raised pork at local markets.

    You'll be staying in our house while you are with us - for that reason, non-smokers only, sorry. You'll have your own comfortable room and bathroom.

    We do love food, so the menu is always interesting and home grown.

    There are always many projects on the go - the tasks are varied and interesting and there is much to learn (for all of us).

    Our philosophy is that you get as much out of a person as you put in. Which means that if a helper leaves here without having a solid grounding in most of the aspects of how we farm and why, as well as feeling appreciated, well fed and part of the family, then we would consider we have failed that person.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share our lives and as much as we know about permaculture, sustainable living, eco-farmimng, soil restoration and the like. Not to mention cooking/eating!

  • Help

    Help

    We are still building infrastructure, so there are a variety of building projects as well as gardening and looking after the farm animals (especially the pigs), food preservation (if you are here at harvest time) and we sell at a couple of local farmers markets.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have some spare bedrooms in our house with comfortable beds

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're happy to play tourist with our helpers - there are beaches, bushwalks, waterfalls, cafes and other things in this district. there is plenty of opportunity to interact with other local people through our involvement with local farmers markets and the local Landcare groups

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    You work when we work, sometimes longer, sometimes shorter, sometimes not at all...max 25 hours









Host ref number: 443844188699