Handy person needed in Brussels, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a German family living in Brussels. Both parents are working and the three children (7, 5 and 2 years of age) attend to school, kindergarten and day care.
    We try to live as ecologically as possible: daily cyclists with no car in the house, ecological food and recycling and upcycling of things. For the last year we have been renovating our house in an eco-friendly way and have moved in in May.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Brussels is a very interesting city to be; as the capital of Europe there is a lot to be discovered in terms of politics, different cultures, art and events. We have been living in this city for more than a decade and are well connected and knowledgeable and are very happy to show people around and to give them hints on what to do - be it in Brussels or Belgium.
    As we are Germans the traveller might also get to experience a bit of our German traditions.
    We can help with finding a language class, provide a bike and share in general our knowledge on ecological living, organic farming, literature and everything that is of common interest.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently looking for someone to help us with some ongoing projects, especially wood-working: building bunk beds and shelves. Also sanding and painting of shelves needs to be done. And as spring kicks in some preparatory tasks in the garden.
    We are looking for someone with experience in the above described areas, someone responsible with an eye for details. We have all the tools and most of the equipment at home and would join in the building process but need someone who has more time at his/her hands than we have to advance with the projects...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, French, Dutch, English (children do not speak English...)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on when you will arrive we will be able to offer you a room of your own or a bed in our office.

    As to food: we will surely find out what is best for all of us. During the week breakfasts are fast and the traveller might want to take more time once the family has left the house. We will only be back in the late afternoon/evening and could share dinner then. For the weekend it will be different as there is more time. Probably it's the easiest if the traveller just helps her/himself for whatever s/he feels like. There will be plenty of food, for sure.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You'll find everything in Brussels: Language courses but also anything else from sports to cooking to handicraft work. There are many museums and exhibtions as well as an abundance of events. City life and nature are both possible.
    You can get to all other parts of Belgium easily by train or even consider taking a train to the Netherlands, Germany, Luxembourg, France, UK...
    Public transport is very convenient from our place and you can also borrow one of our bikes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, some help during the weekend






Host ref number: 443696267228