We need help in our walled garden in Scotland, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 536 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Join us in our family home on a small eighteenth-century country estate with a walled garden. Keith and Elizabeth (retired English teacher) live in the main part of the house. There are also two dogs, two cats, five hens and four sheep. Cattle and sheep graze the three big grass-parks but do not need our care. There is extensive woodland. Other people live in 5 cottages on the estate. At present there is on-going renovation of the south wing of the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a retired English teacher. Travellers will improve their English by total immersion. I am also interested in history and can provide information about Scottish cultural life.

  • Help


    Accomodation and full board is offered in exchange for 5 hours help per day Mon-Fri. Elizabeth or Keith will often be working with you. Typical outdoor tasks would be: cutting grass, weeding, building bonfires, strimming, clearing rhodendrons, digging ground, planting and tending vegetables and flowers. In very wet weather there will be indoor cleaning and painting.

    Commitment for two weeks minimum. Applicants in mid-to-late twenties with some gardening experience preferred. Couples considered.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Although rural, we are only a mile from a small town with shops, a library and good bus connections. Edinburgh is 22 miles away. You will live with us in a good-sized private bedroom on the ground floor with a lovely view down the lawn and shared bathroom/shower. There is free internet connection and you will eat meals with the family unless we are out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will meet you at Halbeath Park and Ride bus station just north of Edinburgh (bus connections to Edinburgh, Inverness, St Andrews, Stirling, Glasgow and the airport).
    There are local buses from Kelty to Dunfermline, Cowdenbeath, Kinross and Perth. We have bicycles to lend you and there are great forest walks from the house. Dunfermline has a historic centre, there is an indoor swimming pool at Cowdenbeath and a nature reserve cycle path around loch Leven by Kinross.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week

Host ref number: 442355646282

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more