Experience the real outback on a family-run organic cattle farm in Central Queensland. Australia

Country

Australia

new host  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family run organic cattle property in Central Queensland. We are on 38,000 acres of land and around 2500 cattle. We breed and fatten brahman/charolais cattle. We are a family of 5, we are lucky enough to have 3 lovely young boys aged 5,7 and 9. If you are open to getting your hands dirty and experience true outback life whilst hopefully having fun in a remote part of Australia that not many tourists have the opportunity to see then this could be just the place for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We believe the workawayers would benefit from seeing the outback way of life on a real working cattle station, not a tourist spot. We are friendly and happy people and would love to introduce our boys to people from other countries. Having been a backpacker myself in australia a decade ago, i know the value of being properly immersed in a family to get an authentic experience.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who is open minded and will to embrace a new way of life. We would love a flexible helper, at times we need help with the children (i am a nurse also and need to travel a long distance for my shifts) 2 of whom are in school and one who does kindergarten twice a week. We would love someone to muck in with family stuff so with the children or in the garden or baking cakes! There would also be an opportunity to help on the farm with general maintenance and checking of watering points and fences for example. The helper must like animals too, we have 9 working dogs and many horses to feed. An ability to ride a horse could be an advantage but not essential. We are energetic people ourselves- a hard working and positive person who is willing to give anything a try would suit our family well. We live 40km from a very small town so you need to be able to make fun out of nothing and also be able to handle hot temperatures!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a separate 3 bedroomed cottage with air conditioning and it's own kitchen and bathroom. The cottage is approximately 80m from the main homestead. We have a pool at the main house which you'd be welcome to use any time. There is also mobile reception on most of the cattle property which is great for safety and convenience. We have limited wifi data at the house so would be best if you used your own package using the reception available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport is very limited out here! We would happily allow use of a vehicle for short trips where necessary. Local highlights include Gemfields, Emerald, Longreach and Carnarvon Gorge. Further afield is Rockhampton, Yeppoon, Great Keppel Island. There may be local rodeo's and campdrafts and country races also in the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible hours

Host ref number: 442176929679